How do I submit an event, honor or other neighborhood news?

August 25, 2011 

Community news continues to be essential to The State’s coverage of the Midlands, in print, online and through mobile devices. The newspaper’s Metro section continues to cover news about local schools, government and civic affairs.

We have separated some of these items into categories published weekly:

• Monday, People: Highlighting schools, military and community groups

• Tuesday and Friday, Giving help, getting help: Focusing on volunteer and donation needs, fundraisers and other community drives

• Also Tuesday: A photo gallery from Midlands schools

• Saturday, Matters of Faith: Highlighting church events and programs, anniversaries and more.

We also publish calendars and lists about local events and activities, as well as high school sports at midlandspreps.com.

Note for advertisers: The State newspaper has a weekly print environment for advertisers seeking ways to reach specific areas of the Midlands. The Life & Style section each Thursday will include zoned advertising opportunities similar to those previously available in Neighbors. This makes it possible to target their message in a popular, colorful section of The State. For more information, please contact Emily Fernandez, Sales Operations Manager, (803) 771-8655, or ecfernandez@thestate.com.

How to submit news items

Here are answers to frequently asked questions.

Where do I send a news release or story idea?

Email: state@thestate.com, fax the information to (803) 771-8430 or call (803) 771-8415.

Where do I submit school event photos?

Email: Dawn Kujawa. Note: All minors must have parental permission for their images to published before we can accept a photo for the gallery.

Where do I send a calendar item?

Visit our online calendar to create your own event listing, or email: calendars@thestate.com or fax the information to (803) 771-8430.

Emails should include a brief description of the event listing, time, date, location (including street address) and contact information.

Items are published in print on a space-available basis as a courtesy. Items must be on time and provide complete information.

Where do I send letters to the editor?

Email: stateeditor@thestate.com

Guidelines are available at thestate.com/letters.

How do I find contact information for a specific reporter or desk, such as sports?

A list of newsroom contacts and emails are available at thestate.com/contact.

Here is a partial list:

General comments: (803) 771-8624, or comments@thestate.com

Advertising: (803) 771-8338

Switchboard: (803) 771-6161

News Contacts

Newsroom: (803) 771-8415

Education: Dawn Kujawa at (803) 771-8561, dkujawa@thestate.com

Event listings: fax information to (803) 771-8430, calendars@thestate.com

Executive Editor: Mark E. Lett, (803) 771-8451, mlett@thestate.com

Food, dining and restaurant news: Susan Ardis, food@thestate.com

Home and garden events: (803) 771-8441, homeandgarden@thestate.com

Local news: Eileen Waddell, (803) 771-8621, ewaddell@thestate.com

Managing Editor: Steve Brook, (803) 771-8464, sbrook@thestate.com

Online managing editor: Gary Ward, (803) 771-8598, online@thestate.com

Photo, sales and reprints: (800) 390-7269, thestate@mycapture.com

Religion and faith news: Carolyn Click, (803) 771-8386, cclick@thestate.com

Shopping and retail: Kristy Rupon, (803) 771-8308, krupon@thestate.com

Sports news and game results: (803) 771-8470, statesports@thestate.com

State government: Steve Brook, (803) 771-8464, sbrook@thestate.com

Newsroom mailing address

1401 Shop Road Columbia, SC 29201