December 19, 2012 

General telephone inquiries

Main switchboard: (800) 888-5353

General office hours

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

 

Fax and other numbers

Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD) 803.771.8698
Breaking News state@thestate.com 803.771.8415 / 800.288.2727
Newsroom Fax 803.771.8430
Sports Fax 803.771.8613

Administration

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Executive Assistant to the Publisher Kathy Moreland kmoreland@thestate.com 803.771.8370
Vice President Finance Kelly Edwards kedwards@thestate.com 803.771.8408
Finance Manager Mike Compton mcompton@thestate.com 803.771.8552
Vice President Human Resources Diane Frea dfrea@thestate.com 803.771.8497

Advertising

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Legal Notices statelegalads@thestate.com 803.771.8477
Ad inserts/coupons Michelle Bertiaux
mbertiaux@thestate.com
803.771.8477
Retail Advertising Carol Copeland
ccopeland@thestate.com
803.771.8341
Classified Advertising Lauren Libet
llibet@thestate.com
803.771.8372 http://columbiathestate.adperfect.com/
Online Advertising Lauren Libet
llibet@thestate.com
803.771.8372
Online Advertising Nicole Daniels
ndaniels@thestate.com
803.771.8357
Calendar calendars@thestate.com 803.771.8416 http://events.thestate.com/
Community News calendars@thestate.com 803.771.8416
Celebrations weddings@thestate.com 803.771.8431
Obituaries stateobits@thestate.com 803.771.8452 / 803.771.8452
Obituary pricing and guidelines

Subscriber Services

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Customer Service apaccirc@thestate.com 800.888.3566
Single Copy Manager Richard Curtis rcurtis@thestate.com 803.771.8629
Subscriptions/Billing apaccirc@thestate.com 800.888.3566

Human Resources

Human Resources Office 803.771.8350
Human Resources FAX 803.540.3041

Newsroom

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Vice President and Executive Editor Mark Lett mlett@thestate.com 803.771.8451
Managing Editor Steve Brook sbrook@thestate.com 803.771.8464
 

Local News / Business

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Assistant Managing Editor Eileen Waddell ewaddell@thestate.com 803.771.8621
Assistant Metro Editor Dawn Kujawa dkujawa@thestate.com 803.771.8561
Reporter Clif LeBlanc cleblanc@thestate.com 803.771.8664
Reporter Sammy Fretwell sfretwell@thestate.com 803.771.8537
Reporter Mindy Lucas mlucas@thestate.com 803.771.8657
Reporter John Monk jmonk@thestate.com 803.771.8344
Reporter Noelle Phillips nophillips@thestate.com 803.771.8307
Reporter Carolyn Click cclick@thestate.com 803.771.8386
Reporter Tim Flach tflach@thestate.com 803.771.8483
Reporter Dawn Hinshaw dhinshaw@thestate.com 803.771.8641
Reporter Bertram Rantin brantin@thestate.com 803.771.8306
Assistant Business Editor Kristy Rupon krupon@thestate.com 803.771.8308
Reporter Jeffrey Wilkinson jwilkinson@thestate.com 803.771.8495
Reporter Roddie Burris rburris@thestate.com 803.771.8398
 

Opinion / Editorial

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Associate Editor Warren Bolton wbolton@thestate.com 803.771.8631 @boltonwarren
Associate Editor Cindi Ross Scoppe cscoppe@thestate.com 803.771.8571 @cindiscoppe
Letters to the Editor stateeditor@thestate.com 803.771.8465
803.771.8639
 

Sports

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Executive Sports Editor Rick Millians rmillians@thestate.com 803.771.8450
Columnist Ron Morris rmorris@thestate.com 803.771.8432
Reporter Akilah Nelson ainelson@thestate.com 803.771.8419
Reporter Neil White ntwhite@thestate.com 803.771.8643
Sports Copy Editor Greg Hardy ghardy@thestate.com 803.771.8536
Sports Copy Editor Jeff Price jdprice@thestate.com 803.771.8642
Page Designer Kevin McLendon kmclendon@thestate.com 803.771.8337
 

Features

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Features, Arts & Entertainment Editor Betsey Guzior bguzior@thestate.com 803.771.8441
Reporter Joey Holleman jholleman@thestate.com 803.771.8366
Reporter Otis Taylor otaylor@thestate.com 803.771.8362
 

Governance

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Reporter Adam Beam abeam@thestate.com 803.771.8405@adambeam
Reporter Andy Shain ashain@thestate.com 803.771.9619@andyshain
Reporter Jamie Self jself@thestate.com 803.771.8658@jamieself
 

Admin & Reader's Desk

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Operations Manager Diane Morrison dmorrison@thestate.com 803.771.8444
News Assistant Rosie Brooks rbrooks@thestate.com 803.771.8560
News Assistant Laura Sams lsams@thestate.com 803.771.8614
 

Online News

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Managing Editor for Online Gary Ward gward@thestate.com 803.771.8598
Assistant Online Editor, GoGamecocks.com Dwayne McLemore dmclemore@thestate.com 803.771.8687
 

Photography

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Photojournalist Chris Berry caberry@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Tim Dominick tdominick@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Kim Kim Foster Tobin kkfoster@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Tracy Glantz tglantz@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Gerry Melendez gmelendez@thestate.com 803.771.8420
 

Design

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Assistant Sports Editor, Presentation Meredith Sheffer msheffer@thestate.com 803.771.8519
Page Designer Susan Ardis sardis@thestate.com 803.771.8595
Page Designer Tracy Burlison tburlison@thestate.com 803.771.8490
Page Designer Kelly Cobb kcobb@thestate.com 803.771.8409
Page Designer Randy Shirey rshirey@thestate.com 803.771.8596
Page Designer Elizabeth Smith emsmith@thestate.com 803.771.7950
 

Copy Desk

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Copy Desk Chief Bob Venturella rventurella@thestate.com 803.771.8316
Copy Editor Bobby Bryant blbryant@thestate.com 803.771.8454
Copy Editor John Collins jocollins@thestate.com 803.771.8397

Online

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Managing Editor for Online Gary Ward gward@thestate.com 803.771.8598
General Inquiries online@thestate.com  
Online Support online@thestate.com  

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service