Historic Columbia seeks nominations for preservation awards

January 26, 2013 

Historic Columbia Foundation is accepting nominations for the 2013 Preservation Awards, recognizing preservation efforts and projects in the city of Columbia and Richland County.

“Our annual preservation awards recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of many local projects that add to the historical, architectural and cultural significance of our community,” said Robin Waites, Historic Columbia Foundation’s executive director.

This year’s award categories include:

•  Preservation/Restoration (projects of historical significance restored to their original design).

•  Adaptive Use (projects of rehabilitation that incorporate new elements and allow the original structure to be used in a new capacity).

•  New Construction in Historic Context (new buildings placed in an historic district or adjacent to historic structures that complement the historic context).

•  Preservation Leadership (an individual, governmental agency, and/or community or neighborhood association that contributed to the advancement of historic preservation in the region).

The awards will be presented May 2 at the foundation’s Annual Preservation Awards Luncheon.

Nominations should be limited to projects completed in the past five years, located in Columbia and Richland County and meeting the above criteria.

The nomination deadline is Feb. 11. Forms are available by calling (803) 252-7742, ext 10 or online at www.historiccolumbia.org.

Bertram Rantin

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service