Sprint Cup Preview: Toyota

Sprint Cup Preview: Toyota

The Charlotte ObserverFebruary 10, 2013 

    No.DriverCrew ChiefTeam
    11Denny HamlinDarian GrubbJoe Gibbs
    15Clint BowyerBrian PattieMichael Waltrip
    18Kyle BuschDave RogersJoe Gibbs
    20Matt KensethJason RatliffJoe Gibbs
    47Bobby LabonteBrian BurnsJTG Daugherty
    55Mark Martin/Brian Vickers/Michael WaltripRodney ChildersMichael Waltrip
    56Martin Truex Jr.Chad JohnstonMichael Waltrip

Toyota has accomplished a lot since it began competition in NASCAR’s premier series in 2007.

What it has yet to do is see one of its Sprint Cup Series drivers capture that coveted championship.

That could change this season.

Clint Bowyer, in his first season driving for Michael Waltrip Racing, finished as championship runnerup to Brad Keselowski in 2012 and there’s no reason to think he can’t be in position to contend again in 2013.

Bowyer’s teammate, Martin Truex Jr., also qualified for the Chase for the Cup, although he failed to make it to Victory Lane during the season.

Matt Kenseth is the new face for Toyota in 2013, as he moved from Roush Fenway Racing to Joe Gibbs Racing in the offseason, replacing Joey Logano in the No. 20 Toyota.

Kenseth and Bobby Labonte — who drives for JTG Daugherty Racing — are the drivers in the Toyota stable who have won a Cup title in their career.

Denny Hamlin and Kyle Busch return at JGR with their respective teams intact and Mark Martin, Brian Vickers and team co-owner Michael Waltrip will share time this year in the No. 55 Toyota for MWR.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service