March 23, 2013 

Auto Club 400

WHERE: Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, Calif.

TRACK TYPE: .2-mile slightly banked D-shaped oval

RACE DISTANCE: 200 laps, 400 miles

WEATHER: Sunny, mid-70s

TV: Coverage begins at 2 p.m. on Fox. Green flag is 3:16 p.m.

RADIO: Performance Racing Network (94.3 FM in Columbia area)

Three things to watch

1 A Toyota never has won at Auto Club Speedway but Denny Hamlin starts from the pole and Toyota drivers make up five of the top 10 starting positions.

2 Tony Stewart won last year and needs the points. He starts eighth.

3 Brad Keselowski is the only driver to start the season with four consecutive top-five finishes. He’ll start from the rear.


•  Keselowski’s start is the best since Jimmie Johnson started the same way in 2005. Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace in 1998 was the last driver to start a season with five consecutive top-five finishes. Hall of Famer Cale Yarborough owns the top mark with nine straight top-fives to start 1974.

•  The No. 51 Chevrolet Phoenix Racing team has used three drivers — A.J. Allmendinger, Regan Smith and Austin Dillon — in the first four races, and the team is eighth in the owners’ standings.

Jim Utter, The Charlotte Observer


1.Denny HamlinToyota187.451
2.Greg BiffleFord187.217
3.Brad KeselowskiFord187.149
4.Kyle BuschToyota187.13
5.Matt KensethToyota186.688
6.Joey LoganoFord186.514
7.Martin Truex, Jr..Toyota186.273
8.Tony StewartChevy185.864
9.Mark MartinToyota185.792
10.Kurt BuschChevy185.677
11.Casey MearsFord185.157
12.Juan Pablo MontoyaChevy185.085
13.Clint BowyerToyota184.876
14.Kevin HarvickChevy184.715
15.Dale Earnhardt, Jr..Chevy184.625
16.Kasey KahneChevy184.374
17.Jamie McMurrayChevy184.233
18.Jimmie JohnsonChevy184.044
19.Jeff GordonChevy184.011
20.Ryan NewmanChevy183.988
21.Marcos AmbroseFord183.852
22.Jeff BurtonChevy183.702
23.Aric AlmirolaFord183.697
24.Carl EdwardsFord183.57
25.Bobby LabonteToyota183.248
26.A J AllmendingerChevy183.113
27.Paul MenardChevy183.02
28.David ReutimannToyota182.825
29.Dave BlaneyChevy182.658
30.Josh WiseFord182.639
31.Ricky Stenhouse, Jr..Ford182.519
32.David StremmeToyota182.473
33.Travis KvapilToyota182.44
34.David GillilandFord181.493
35.Michael McDowellFord181.087
36.Landon CassillChevy181.087
37.J.J. YeleyChevyOwnerPoints
38.Scott RiggsFordOwnerPoints
39.Timmy HillFordOwnerPoints
40.Danica PatrickChevyOwnerPoints
41.Mike BlissToyotaOwnerPoints
42.David RaganFordOwnerPoints
43.Joe NemechekToyotaOwnerPoints

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service