Nationwide: Busch caps big day

The Associated PressMay 10, 2013 

— Kyle Busch took the lead from Joey Logano 18 laps from the end to win his fifth Nationwide race this season and second in three years at Darlington Raceway on Friday night.

The victory also capped a dominant showing by the Busch boys at the track “Too Tough To Tame.”

Older brother Kurt set a qualifying record to win the pole for the Southern 500 on Saturday night. Kyle was third in Sprint Cup qualifying before dominating the Nationwide race.

The younger Busch started from the pole and was the strongest car throughout. He led for 107 of the 147 laps and finished a second in front of Elliott Sadler.

Joe Gibbs Racing placed four in the top five, Busch and Elliott’s teammates Brian Vickers third and Matt Kenseth fifth.

VFW Sport Clips Help a Hero 200

11Kyle BuschToyota1470
22Elliott SadlerToyota14742
34Brian VickersToyota14741
414Joey LoganoFord1470
53Matt KensethToyota1470
67Kyle LarsonChevy14738
711Regan SmithChevy14737
89Sam Hornish Jr.Ford14736
96Kasey KahneChevy1470
105Justin AllgaierChevy14734
118Austin DillonChevy14733
1218Chris BuescherFord14732
1315Ty DillonChevy1470
1426Brian ScottChevy14730
1512Parker KligermanToyota14729
1621Nelson Piquet Jr.Chevy14728
1713Alex BowmanToyota14727
1816Reed SorensonFord14726
1919Mike BlissToyota14625
2027Jeremy ClementsChevy14625
2122Josh WiseChevy14623
2224Blake KochToyota14622
2320Landon CassillChevy1460
2428Joe NemechekToyota14620
2525Mike WallaceChevy14619
2637Eric McClureToyota14418
2738 Danny EflandChevy14417
2817Travis PastranaFord14416
2934Hal MartinToyota14316
3030Dexter StaceyFord14214
3135Harrison RhodesFord1410
3210Trevor BayneFord13912
3339Tony RainesToyota13912
3433Kyle FowlerFord108110
3540Kevin LepageToyota2729
3636Bryan SilasToyota2110
3731Jeff GreenToyota1637
3823J.J. YeleyChevy720
3932Chase MillerChevy445
4029Tanner BerryhillToyota324

*Reason out: 1-accident, 2-rear gear, 3-vibration, 4-overheating.


Average Speed of Winner: 130.816 mph.

Time: 1 hour, 32 minutes, 6 seconds

Margin of Victory: 0.935 seconds

Caution Flags: 4 for 17 laps

Lead Changes: 10 among 8 drivers

Lap Leaders: K.Busch 1-24; L.Cassill 25; J.Clements 26; K.Busch 27-51; H.Martin 52; T.Raines 53; K.Kahne 54; M.Kenseth 55-81; K.Busch 82-121; J.Logano 122-129; K.Busch 130-147.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Led, Laps Led): K.Busch, 4 times for 107 laps; M.Kenseth, 1 time for 27 laps; J.Logano, 1 time for 8 laps; K.Kahne, 1 time for 1 lap; J.Clements, 1 time for 1 lap; L.Cassill, 1 time for 1 lap; H.Martin, 1 time for 1 lap; T.Raines, 1 time for 1 lap.

Top 10 in Points: 1. R.Smith, 342; 2. S.Hornish Jr., 314; 3. E.Sadler, 300; 4. J.Allgaier, 299; 5. B.Vickers, 293; 6. A.Dillon, 290; 7. P.Kligerman, 287; 8. B.Scott, 284; 9. A.Bowman, 258; 10. K.Larson, 248.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service