Irmo team wins SC title

From Staff ReportsJuly 23, 2013 

The Irmo Majors Girls Softball All-Star team won the South Carolina State Championship for the first time in Irmo Little League history.

The team leaves on Wednesday for the Southeastern Softball Regional Tournament in Warner Robins, Ga., which runs Thursday through Sunday.

They will compete against the other seven state champions in the southeast region for a chance to advance to the Little League Softball World Series.

“The Irmo Little League Softball team has had a long road getting to this point. The girls have learned a lot about hard work, teamwork and leadership,” coach Patrick McMahon said. “We’re so proud of these girls.”

The team is managed by McMahon and coaches Doug Putlock and Leland Colvin.

The players are: Janie Broad, Lauren Colvin, Lily Garcia, Emily Gass, Katy Hall, Delaney Landry, Shelby Lewis, Carolyn Lusk, Morgan McMahon, Jillian Price, Hannah Putlock, Savannah Rubeiz and Abby Stephenson.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service