Yang wins playoff in South Korea

The Sports NetworkOctober 20, 2013 

Incheon, South Korea (SportsNetwork.com) - Amy Yang birdied the first playoff hole Sunday to defeat Hee Kyung Seo and win the LPGA KEB - HanaBank Championship.

Yang closed with a 3-under 69 to end at 9-under-par 207. Seo finished one group ahead of Yang and her 4-under 68 got her in first at minus-9.

In the playoff, Yang converted a 15-foot birdie chance on No. 18 on the Ocean Course at Sky 72 Golf Club to earn her first LPGA Tour victory.

"I have been waiting for this championship for a long time, and I'm really happy get it in my home country. I think still I can't believe it," Yang said.

Last year's winner Suzann Pettersen had moved into a share of the lead, but bogeys at seven and 10, dropped her from the top spot. Pettersen birdied two of the last four holes for a 2-under 70, which left her tied for third at minus-8. She was joined there by Michelle Wie, who fired a 6-under 66 for the low round of the day, and Sei Young Kim (69).

Ha Neul Kim managed a 1-under 71 to grab sixth at 6-under 210, while Brittany Lincicome carded a 3-under 69 to take seventh at minus-5.

Second-round co-leader Anna Nordqvist tripped to a 3-over 75, which left her tied for eighth at 4-under-par 212.

Katherine Hull-Kirk, who shared the lead with Nordqvist entering the final round, struggled to a 8-over 80, which left her tied for 32nd at plus-1.

The final round saw as many as eight different players grab a piece of the lead. Yang and Seo joined that mix late in the front nine.

Before they jumped into the mix Ha Neul Kim, Nordqvist and Hull-Kirk had all had a piece of the lead and dropped from contention.

Pettersen had a pair of early birdies to take the lead, but a bogey on the seventh dropped her into a share of the top spot with Yang and Seo.

Seo had two birdies and six pars through eight holes to gain a share of the lead at minus-7. Yang joined Seo and Pettersen at that number with a birdie on the par-3 eighth. Seo dropped one back as she bogeyed the ninth.

Pettersen stumbled to a bogey at No. 10 to slide back. She rallied with two late birdies, but needed a third to get into the playoff.

Seo holed out for eagle at the par-4 11th to jump into the lead at minus-8. She bogeyed the 12th, but still led by one as Yang faltered to a bogey at par-4 11th.

Sei Young Kim, who was paired with Yang, ran off three straight birdies from the 13th to briefly take the lead at 9-under. Yang holed out for eagle on 15 to jump back to minus-8, while Seo birdied that same hole to join Yang in a share of second.

While that jostling for position was going on, Wie birdied four of the last six holes to get into the clubhouse at minus-8. Sei Young Kim bogeyed the 18th to end alongside Wie at 8-under.

Seo converted a birdie try on No. 18 to take the clubhouse lead at 9-under. Yang, in the following group, also birdied the final hole to gain a share of the lead.

"I played really well the last two days. I think the big miss was No. 14, I missed short putt. That was a big one," admitted Seo. "I'm really happy for Amy. She was waiting for really long time. I think I can wait more than her. I know it's going to be coming soon for me, so I will just wait and do my things."

When Pettersen failed to eagle the last, Seo and Yang were off to the extra session.

NOTES: Yang earned $285,000 for the win ... Seo also lost at playoff at the 2011 U.S. Women's Open ... Yang became the fourth first-time winner this season ... The LPGA Tour shifts to Taiwan next week for the Sunrise LPGA Taiwan Championship, where Pettersen is the defending champion again, as she rolled to a 3-stroke win over Inbee Park last year.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service