The State’s Heisman poll: FSU’s Winston takes the lead

November 13, 2013 

Florida St Wake Forest Football

Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston watches on the sidelines as his team plays Wake Forest in the first half of an NCAA college football game in Winston-Salem, N.C., Saturday, Nov. 9, 2013. Florida State won 59-3. (AP Photo/Nell Redmond)


Winston moves into the lead

For the second consecutive season, a freshman could win the Heisman Trophy.

Freshman quarterback Jameis Winston took over the top spot in The State’s Heisman Trophy poll for the first time this season by garnering six of the 13 first-place votes. Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, who held the top spot for three consecutive weeks, dropped to fifth after a loss to Stanford. That allowed Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, who won the award last season, to move into second after receiving four first-place votes.

Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty and Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron, who guide unbeaten teams like Winston, made significant jumps in their point totals after posting impressive performances in wins against against ranked teams.

Two USC players and two Clemson players continue to receive votes.

Neil White


Player, Pos. School Points
1. Jameis Winston, QBFSU53 (6)*
2. Johnny Manziel, QBTexas A&M50 (4)*
3. Bryce Petty, QBBaylor28
4. A.J. McCarron, QBAlabama26 (3)*
5. Marcus Mariota, QBOregon16
6. Tajh Boyd, QBClemson7
7. Mike Davis, RBUSC4
8. Brandin Cooks, WROregon State3
9 (tie). Sean Mannion, QBOregon State2
9 (tie). Connor Shaw, QBUSC2

(First-place votes)*

Others receiving votes: Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville, 1; Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State, 1; C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama, 1; Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson, 1.

Poll voters: Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Heath Cline, 107.5 The Game; Rick Henry, WIS-TV; Josh Kendall, The State; Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star; Phil Kornblut, South Carolina Radio Network; Kevin McCrarey, South Carolina Sports Network; Andrew Miller, Charleston Post and Courier; Ron Morris, The State; Gene Sapakoff, Charleston Post and Courier; Neil White, The State; Larry Williams,; Pete Yanity, WSPA-TV.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service