STATE HOUSE: SC Club for Growth releases list of Taxpayer Heroes

Posted by ANDREW SHAIN on November 20, 2013 

South Carolina Capital Building


— The S.C. Club for Growth Foundation released its 2013 Legislative Scorecards and awarded its “Taxpayer Hero” award to seven senators and eight representatives.

Ratings are based on 17 Senate and 14 House roll call votes on economic and government issues. Lawmakers received higher marks for pro-growth votes.

The maximum score is 100 points. Taxpayer Heroes scored A or B+ grades in the rating.

Senate: Average Republican score - 52; Average Democrat - 1

Taxpayer Heroes in the Senate: Lee Bright, R-Spartanburg; Kevin Bryant, R-Anderson; Paul Thurmond, R-Charleston; Tom Corbin, R-Greenville; Shane Massey, R-Edgefield; Shane Martin, R-Spartanburg; and Katrina Shealy, R-Lexington

House of Representatives: Average Republican score:59; Average Democrat score: 9

Taxpayer Heroes in the House: Ralph Norman, R-York; Garry Smith, R-Greenville; Bill Taylor, R-Aiken; Eric Bedingfield, R-Greenville; Bill Chumley, R-Spartanburg; Deborah Long, R-Lancaster; and Phyllis Henderson, R-Greenville

Of note: Sen. Vincent Sheheen, the presumed Democratic nominee for governor next year, was tied for the highest score among Democrats -- though he received an F grade along with 28 other senators.

The Club gave F grades to 68 state representatives.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service