People & achievements

Posted on December 8, 2013 


Chernoff Newman in Columbia received Best of Columbia and Best of Show awards at the AIGA InShow Awards.


Kurt Eyring with Miller-Valentine Group in Columbia has been elected to the board of directors for the Associated Builders and Contractors of the Carolinas.

LCK in Columbia has been certified as a woman-owned and controlled business by the National Women Business Owners Corporation.

Miller-Valentine Group in Columbia has received three Eagle Awards for excellence in construction from the Associated Builders and Contractors.


A3 Communications in Columbia has joined the Corning Cable Systems’ Network of Preferred Installers.


Tushar Chikhliker, an attorney with Nexsen Pruet in Columbia, has been elected to the S.C. Independent Colleges and Universities board of trustees.

Rob Tyson, a partner with Sowell Gray Stepp & Laffitte in Columbia, has been elected to the S.C. Defense Trial Attorneys’ Association board of directors.


The Palladium Society of Historic Columbia has announced its 2013-2014 board members: President Megan Plott, Josh Bucher, Michael Burchstead, Duane Burdick, Brian Cuthrell, John Dawkins, Vanessa Driscoll, Lauren Guignard, Ashley Jenkins, Chad Johnston, Jeff Lawler, Bryanta Maxwell, Olivia Padgett, Katie Preston, Debi Schadel and Cleve Walker.


Marilynn Joyner, a broker with NAI Avant in Columbia, has been elected to the Richland County Planning Commission by the Richland County Council.

Sarah Wagers has joined Colliers International South Carolina in Columbia as a property accountant.


Dedrick Sharpe has been named August team leader for Pollock Company in West Columbia.

Shaun Greenwood of Lexington County has completed the 2013 S.C. Economic Development Institute.

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service