Four officers recognized with Strom Thurmond Awards

Staff ReportsDecember 10, 2013 


— Four South Carolina law enforcement officers were recognized for their work Tuesday with Strom Thurmond Awards for Excellence in Law Enforcement.

The officers — one each at the city, county, state and federal level — were celebrated at the awards luncheon at Fort Jackson.

The award recipients were: Chief Andy Robinson of the York Police Department; Sheriff Jim Matthews of the Kershaw County Sheriff’s Office; Director Alvin A. Taylor of the S.C. Department of Natural Resources; Special Agent Alan Cornett, IRS Criminal Investigation.

The Strom Thurmond Awards for Excellence in Law Enforcement were established by U.S. Sen. Strom Thurmond in 1983 to recognize officers whose performances “demonstrate the highest ideals of excellence in professional law enforcement.”

“It is my great honor to recognize these four officers who exemplify the best in law enforcement,” said U.S. Attorney Bill Nettles in a press release. "These officers represent the many fine men and women who wear the badge, serving their communities, this state and our nation with distinction, integrity, and character, at great personal sacrifice.”

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service