General telephone inquiries

Customer Service: 1.800.888.3566

Main Switchboard: 1.800.888.5353

General office hours

Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m.

Administration

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Publisher & PresidentSara Johnson Borton publisher@thestate.com803.771.8693
Marketing Director/Executive Assistant to the PublisherKathy Allen kallen@thestate.com803.771.8370
Vice President of FinanceCindy Taulbee ctaulbee@thestate.com803.771.8408
General Accounting ManagerAndrae Houghlan ahoughlan@thestate.com803.771.8670
Operations DirectorWilliam King wking@thestate.com803.771.8354
   

Customer Service

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Customer Servicecustomerservice@thestate.com1.800.888.3566
Senior Director of Audience DevelopmentChuck Flynn cflynn@thestate.com803.771.8432
Customer Service ManagerAllen Washington awashington@thestate.com803.771.8382
Single Copy ManagerJim Bourn jbourn@thestate.com803.771.8660
Consumer Sales ManagerRichard Curtis rcurtis@thestate.com803.771.8629
Subscriptions/Billingcustomerservice@thestate.com1.800.888.3566
Advertising payment by phone 803.771.8321
   

Newsroom

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Vice President and Executive EditorMark Lett mlett@thestate.com803.771.8451
Managing EditorSteve Brook sbrook@thestate.com803.771.8464
Associate Editor for Editorial, Business and Special ProjectsPaul Osmundson posmundson@thestate.com803.771.8308
   

Local News/Business

Assistant Managing EditorEileen Waddell ewaddell@thestate.com803.771.8621
Senior WriterJohn Monk jmonk@thestate.com | @jmonkatthestate803.771.8344
Business ReporterJeffrey Wilkinson jwilkinson@thestate.com | @wilkinson_Jeff803.771.8495
Business ReporterRoddie Burris rburris@thestate.com803.771.8398
ReporterSarah Ellis sellis@thestate.com | @ellissk04803.771.8307
ReporterTim Flach tflach@thestate.com803.771.8483
ReporterSammy Fretwell sfretwell@thestate.com | @sfretwell83803.771.8537
ReporterClif Leblanc cleblanc@thestate.com803.771.8664
Metro ReporterHarrison Cahill hcahill@thestate.com | @cahill_harrison803.771.8305
Metro ReporterCassie Cope ccope@thestate.com | @cassielcope803.771.8657
   

Opinion/Editorial

TitleName/Email/TwitterWork Phone
Associate EditorCindi Ross Scoppe cscoppe@thestate.com | @cindiscoppe803.771.8571
Editorial CartoonistRobert Ariail rariail@thestate.com803.771.8340
Letters to the Editorstateeditor@thestate.com803.771.8465
Opinion/Editorial Fax 803.771.8639
   

Sports

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Executive Sports EditorRick Millians rmillians@thestate.com803.771.8450
Assistant Sports Editor, PresentationMeredith Sheffer msheffer@thestate.com803.771.8519
Sports ReporterDavid Cloninger dcloninger@thestate.com803.771.8676
Sports ReporterJosh Kendall jkendall@thestate.com803.771.8496
Sports ReporterAaron Ransdell aransdell@thestate.com803.771.8614
Prep Sports CoordinatorLewis Bezjak lbezjak@thestate.com 
   

Features

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Features, Arts & Entertainment EditorDawn Kujawa dkujawa@thestate.com803.771.8561
Go Columbia ReporterErin Shaw eshaw@thestate.com | @GoCoErin803.771.8366
Go Columbia CoordinatorDwaun Sellers dsellers@thestate.com 
   

Politics & Government

TitleName/Email/TwitterWork Phone
ReporterAndy Shain ashain@thestate.com | @andyshain803.771.8619
ReporterJamie Self jself@thestate.com | @jamiemself803.771.8658
   

Administration & Reader's Desk

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Photo Assignments/Operations ManagerDiane Morrison dmorrison@thestate.com803.771.8444
Reader's Desk 803.771.8416
Calendars/Community Newscalendars@thestate.com | events@thestate.com803.771.8416
   

Online News

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Managing Editor for OnlineGary Ward gward@thestate.com803.771.8598
Audience Development DirectorJeff Kidd jkidd@thestate.com | @insidepages803.771.8493
Assistant Online Editor, GoGamecocks.comDwayne McLemore dmclemore@thestate.com803.771.8687
Night Web ProducerRachael Lowe rlowe@thestate.com803.771.8493
Video-Photo DirectorMatt Walsh mwalsh@thestate.com | @MWalshMedia803.771.8376
General Inquiries & Online Supportonline@thestate.com 
   

Photography

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
PhotojournalistTim Dominick tdominick@thestate.com | @timdominickSC803.771.8420
PhotojournalistTracy Glantz tglantz@thestate.com | @StatephotoTracy803.771.8420
PhotojournalistGerry Melendez gmelendez@thestate.com | @gerrymelendez803.771.8420
   

Design

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
DesignerSusan Ardis sardis@thestate.com | @foodsusan803.771.8595
Page DesignerKelly Cobb kcobb@thestate.com803.771.8409

Copy Desk

TitleName/EmailWork Phone
Universal Desk SpecialistDavid Moore rmoore@thestate.com803.771.8413
Features Copy EditorBobby Bryant blbryant@thestate.com803.771.8454
News Copy EditorDeepika Rao drao@thestate.com803.771.8512
Night News EditorKevin Mclendon kmclendon@thestate.com803.771.8337
Sports Copy EditorGreg Hardy ghardy@thestate.com803.771.8536
Sports Copy EditorJeffrey Price jdprice@thestate.com803.771.8642
Digital Producer/Universal Desk SpecialistNoah Feit nfeit@thestate.com 
Universal Desk SpecialistElissa Macarin emacarin@thestate.com803.771.8339
Universal Desk SpecialistJared Macarin jmacarin@thestate.com803.771.8471