General telephone inquiries: 1-800-888-3566  |  General office hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

Fax and other numbers

Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (TDD) 803.771.8698
Breaking News state@thestate.com 803.771.8415 / 800.288.2727
Newsroom Fax 803.771.8430
Sports Fax 803.771.8613

Administration

Title Name/Email Work Phone
PublisherSara Borton publisher@thestate.com803-771-8370
Vice President FinanceCindy Taulbee ctaulbee@thestate.com803-771-8408
Vice President Executive Editor Mark Lett mlett@thestate.com803-771-8451
Vice President Advertising Bernie Heller bheller@thestate.com803-771-8650
Vice President Digital AdvertisingBryan Osborn bosborn@thestate.com 803-771-8358
Vice President Human ResourcesDiane Frea dfrea@thestate.com803-771-8497
Senior Audience Development DirectorChuck Flynn cflynn@thestate.com803-771-8423
Operations DirectorWilliam King wking@thestate.com803-771-8354
Marketing DirectorKathy Allen kallen@thestate.com803-771-8370
Executive Assistant to the PublisherKathy Allen kallen@thestate.com803-771-8370

Advertising

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Legal Notices statelegalads@thestate.com 803.771.8477
Ad inserts/coupons Sharon Frakes
sfrakes@thestate.com
803.771.8526
Direct Marketing Bernie Heller
bheller@thestate.com
803.771.8650
Retail Advertising Lauren Libet
llibet@thestate.com
803.771.8372
Classified Advertising stateclassified@thestate.com
columbiathestate.adperfect.com
803.771.7653
Online Advertising Bryan Osborn bosborn@thestate.com 803.771.8358
Calendar calendars@thestate.com | events.thestate.com 803.771.8416
Community News calendars@thestate.com 803.771.8416
Celebrations weddings@thestate.com 803.771.8431
Obituaries stateobits@thestate.com
803.771.8452

Subscriber Services

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Customer Service customerservice@thestate.com 800.888.3566
Subscriptions/Billing customerservice@thestate.com 800.888.3566
Customer Service Manager Allen Washington awashington@thestate.com 803.771.8382
Single Copy Manager Jim Bourn jbourn@thestate.com 803.771.8660

Human Resources

Human Resources Office 803.771.8350
Human Resources FAX 803.540.3041
Information for Job OpeningsClick here

Newsroom

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Vice President and Executive Editor Mark Lett mlett@thestate.com 803.771.8451
Managing Editor Steve Brook sbrook@thestate.com 803.771.8464

Local News / Business

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Assistant Managing Editor Eileen Waddell ewaddell@thestate.com 803.771.8621
Assistant Metro Editor Dawn Kujawa dkujawa@thestate.com 803.771.8561
Reporter Clif LeBlanc cleblanc@thestate.com 803.771.8664
Reporter Sammy Fretwell sfretwell@thestate.com 803.771.8537
Reporter Mindy Lucas mlucas@thestate.com 803.771.8657
Reporter John Monk jmonk@thestate.com 803.771.8344
Reporter Carolyn Click cclick@thestate.com 803.771.8386
Reporter Tim Flach tflach@thestate.com 803.771.8483
Reporter Dawn Hinshaw dhinshaw@thestate.com 803.771.8641
Reporter Bertram Rantin brantin@thestate.com 803.771.8306
Assistant Business Editor Kristy Rupon krupon@thestate.com 803.771.8308
Reporter Jeffrey Wilkinson jwilkinson@thestate.com 803.771.8495
Reporter Roddie Burris rburris@thestate.com 803.771.8398

Opinion / Editorial

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Associate Editor Warren Bolton wbolton@thestate.com 803.771.8631 @boltonwarren
Associate Editor Cindi Ross Scoppe cscoppe@thestate.com 803.771.8571 @cindiscoppe
Letters to the Editor stateeditor@thestate.com 803.771.8465
803.771.8639

Sports

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Executive Sports Editor Rick Millians rmillians@thestate.com 803.771.8450
Columnist Ron Morris rmorris@thestate.com 803.771.8432
Reporter Akilah Nelson ainelson@thestate.com 803.771.8419
Reporter Neil White ntwhite@thestate.com 803.771.8643
Sports Copy Editor Greg Hardy ghardy@thestate.com 803.771.8536
Sports Copy Editor Jeff Price jdprice@thestate.com 803.771.8642
Page Designer Kevin McLendon kmclendon@thestate.com 803.771.8337

Features

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Features, Arts & Entertainment Editor Betsey Guzior bguzior@thestate.com 803.771.8441
Reporter Joey Holleman jholleman@thestate.com 803.771.8366

Governance

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Reporter Andy Shain ashain@thestate.com 803.771.8619@andyshain
Reporter Jamie Self jself@thestate.com 803.771.8658@jamieself

Admin & Reader's Desk

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Operations Manager Diane Morrison dmorrison@thestate.com 803.771.8444
News Assistant Rosie Brooks rbrooks@thestate.com 803.771.8560
News Assistant Laura Sams lsams@thestate.com 803.771.8614

Online News

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Managing Editor for Online Gary Ward gward@thestate.com 803.771.8598
Assistant Online Editor, GoGamecocks.com Dwayne McLemore dmclemore@thestate.com 803.771.8687
Online Producer Chris Winston cwinston@thestate.com 803.771.8376
Online Producer Anne-Kathryn Flanagan akflanagan@thestate.com 803.771.8396

Photography

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Photojournalist Tim Dominick tdominick@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Kim Kim Foster Tobin kkfoster@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Tracy Glantz tglantz@thestate.com 803.771.8420
Photojournalist Gerry Melendez gmelendez@thestate.com 803.771.8420

Design

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Assistant Sports Editor, Presentation Meredith Sheffer msheffer@thestate.com 803.771.8519
Page Designer Susan Ardis sardis@thestate.com 803.771.8595
Page Designer Kelly Cobb kcobb@thestate.com 803.771.8409
Page Designer Randy Shirey rshirey@thestate.com 803.771.8596

Copy Desk

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Copy Desk Chief Bob Venturella rventurella@thestate.com 803.771.8316
Copy Editor Bobby Bryant blbryant@thestate.com 803.771.8454
Copy Editor John Collins jocollins@thestate.com 803.771.8397

Online

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Managing Editor for Online Gary Ward gward@thestate.com 803.771.8598
General Inquiries online@thestate.com
Online Support online@thestate.com

Marketing

Title Name/Email Work Phone
Marketing DirectorKathy Allen kallen@thestate.com803-771-8370
Special Projects CoordinatorRebekah Hall rhall@thestate.com803-771-8624
Carolina Bridemarketing@thestate.com803-771-8624
GoColumbiagocolumbia@thestate.com803-771-8624
Sponsorshipskallen@thestate.com803-771-8370
Special Sectionsmarketing@thestate.com803-771-8624