Choosing a winner

02/11/2010 12:00 AM

02/09/2010 3:14 PM

Each spring, the state's public school system recognizes excellence within its ranks by naming a South Carolina Teacher of the Year.

All state school districts and the Department of Juvenile Justice can nominate an educator to compete for the honor.

Next month, the state Department of Education is expected to announce the five finalists for the award. Finalists are interviewed by judges, and a winner will be announced at an April 28 banquet.

The winner gets a $25,000 bonus, use of a BMW sport utility vehicle for a year and a yearlong leave from the classroom to serve as a roving ambassador for the state's public school educators. The four other finalists receive $10,000 each.

The current teacher of the year is Bryan Coburn of Northwestern High in York District 3.

The state winner becomes a nominee for National Teacher of the Year.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service