USC coach Steve Spurrier on Tuesday questioned the legality of a piece of tape Alabama used to mark the spot on Crimson Tide kicker Leigh Tiffin’s extra points and field goals in Alabama’s 20-6 win last weekend.
During his weekly press conference, Spurrier said he planned to contact the SEC office to see if the use of a mark on kicks is legal.
According to the NCAA rule book, it is not.
Rule 6-3(d) states that “any device or material used to mark the spot of a scrimmage place kick or elevate the ball makes the kick illegal.” Tiffin was 2-for-2 on extra points and 2-for-3 on field goals against the Gamecocks.
Never miss a local story.
Spurrier said he noticed the tape while watching the game video.
“Their holder on extra points and field goals had a little piece of white tape. … And he put (the tape) down and that was their spot,” Spurrier said. “And the guy kicked it, and occasionally he’d go way over there and grab it (after the kick). I’d never seen that before. So I think we’ve gotta call the head of officials to see if that’s legal.”
SEC spokesman Charles Bloom said the conference was looking into the matter.
Spurrier said Alabama holder P.J. Fitzgerald would put the tape in his pocket after the kicks.
“I’ve never seen that before. But I’m sure they’ve probably been doing it all year,” Spurrier said. “Maybe it is legal. I didn’t know that.”