Midlands area people and achievements, July 13

07/13/2014 12:00 AM

07/12/2014 4:24 PM


Danielle R. Holley-Walker has been appointed dean of the Howard University School of Law. Holley-Walker is a law professor and associate dean for academic affairs at the University of South Carolina School of Law.


Jamil Ibreak has joined ECS Carolinas as construction materials testing project manager in its Columbia office.


Dr. Carlos Soto has been recognized by the National Committee for Quality Assurance’s Heart/Stroke Recognition Program for providing quality cardiovascular and stroke care.


Sue Erwin “Corky” Harper, a partner in Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough’s Columbia office, has been elected as a fellow in the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers.

Andrew W. Saleeby has joined McNair Law Firm’s Columbia office as an associate.

Reggie Belcher, a shareholder in Turner Padget Graham & Laney’s Columbia office, has been named to the “Nation’s Most Powerful Employement Attorneys - Up and Comers” list by LawDragon magazine.

Janet E. Rhodes has joined Callison Tighe & Robinson in Columbia as an associate.

Larry Flynn, an attorney with Columbia-based law firm Pope Zeigler, has been appointed to the S.C. Bar’s Memory Hold the Door committee.


Misty Herrin has joined Make-A-Wish South Carolina as director of development.


Dawn Cleary and Jacquelyn Dyson have joined ERA Wilder’s Lexington office as agents, and Crystal Adams and Audra Rubow have joined as agents in the northeast Columbia office.

Carter Seawell has joined Cypress Real Estate Partners in Columbia as a brokerage associate.


The West Metro Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center has announced its board of directors for the 2014-2015 fiscal year. Executive Committee members are Dennis Breeland (chairman), Mandy Baibak (chair-elect), Connie Watson (past chair), Bobbie Adams (treasurer), Margaret Causey (secretary). Board members are Brooks Biediger, Vaughn Dozier, Debra Gallup, Trey Hoey, Lisa Ingram, Dondee Lewis, Vickie Lovett, Jeanette Lowicz, Gale McCartha, Glennon Monroe, Sandi Owen, Lee Pitcovich, Jesse Stone and Chuck Watts. Advisors are Joe Boyes, Shaun Greenwood and Donna Smith.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service