March 12, 2012

People and achievements this week


RICHLAND 2 has received the Association of School Business Officials International’s Certificate of Excellence in Financial Reporting award. The 2011 report was the district’s 25th consecutive honor.

DANIEL MURPHY, a special education teacher at Polo Road Elementary School, has been named Rookie Teacher of the Year by the S.C. Council for Exceptional Children. The council selects one teacher in the entire state with five years or less of teaching experience. Murphy, who received his master’s degree in teaching from USC, has been with Richland 2 for three years.

THE RNE NAVAL JROTC TEAM beat 15 teams to win first place in the State Invitational Drill Meet on Feb. 5 at Chapin High School. Individual winners were Jonathan Tucker, second place, NS-1 Squad; Carlos Ramos, second place, Unarmed Fancy and second place, Personal Inspection; Olivia Livingston, second place, Armed Platoon; Jessica Cornell, second place, Academic Postal and first place, Academic Test; and Justin Adorno, first place, Armed Fancy and first place, PT.

RICHLAND 2’S L.W. Conder Integrated Magnet School has been named a 2012 S.C. School of Character. The Palmetto Character Council will recognize all of the outstanding schools during a 1:30 p.m. Wednesday awards reception at the Richland 2 Conference Center, Columbia Place Mall.

NEW PROVIDENCE ELEMENTARY’S Leadership Night 2012 will feature Olympic medalist Lawrence “LoJo” Johnson. Johnson won a silver medal in the pole vault at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, coached pole vaulting for four years at USC and led his team to SEC titles. Tickets are $2; call (803) 821-3300.

SAXE GOTHA ELEMENTARY invites educators and community leaders to see the Leader in Me program and the 7 Habits of Highly Effective People in action during the Lexington 1 school’s Leadership Day, slated for 9 a.m.-1:30 p.m. April 5. The workshop will feature performances and presentations by students, presentations by employees, classroom visits and more. Registration is $30 (includes lunch and materials); deadline is March 22. Call (803) 821-4802 or email NIETEEN BATESBURG-LEESVILLE STUDENTS participated in the Region 2 Band at the Lexington 1 Performing Arts Center, Feb. 24-25. B-L Middle musicians included Emily Gantt, Roger Lewis and Aza McMillan, Junior Symphonic Band; and Lucas Church and Kirkland Dukes, Junior Concert Band. B-L High was represented by Alexandra Laswell, Chase O’Dell, Melvonia Taylor and Stacey Terlizzi, Clinic Band; and Senior Band members Kevin Burgess, Mitchell Buzhardt, Sarah Chapman, Forrest Gantt, Krystasia Hair, Bradie Lowman, Craishod Norris, Sam Norris, Nichlel Smith and Tanner Werts. LEXINGTON 1 STUDENTS earning spots in the district’s Honors Orchestra included middle school students Alex Brygger, Reed Carroll, Ben Grady, Sarah Beth Pye and Sessa Richards, bass; Harris Banks, Christopher Coskrey, Lahra Gobbel, Hannah Jernigan, Michael Kennedy, Justin McKinnis, Abby Moore, Hector Santillan-Vazquez, Grace Snuffer, Pierre Stevenson and Jack Young, cello; Kassidy Burgess, Brooke Cress, Shelby Ingle, Dakota Kirkland, Katelyn LaDue, Caldwell Loftis, Brianna Mazzei, Elizabeth McCaw, Nivedita Minjur, Heather Paeth, Tyrus Peoples and Zoe Rice, viola; Steve Aluri, John Cooley, Sebastian DeAnda Perez, Caroline Felder, Sheila Foreman, Callaway Grady, Eric Hall, Haley Hill, Jada Houser, Kayla Ingle, Danielle Milton-Hall, Hannah Milton-Hall, Bryan Ko, Sophia Merida, Patrick McNamara, Martha Miller, Drew Preston, Sammy Reed, Alex Sawyer, Daria Schwab, Libby Smith, Allura Stark, Mary Elena Sumerau, Ce Ce Taylor, Kailynn Turner, Murphy White and Nicolas Zapata; violin. Members of the high school Honors Orchestra were Ashley Bailey, Wes Kirlough, Nathan Middleswarth, James Moore, Frank Sanders, Brendon Shealy, Kelly Walker and Andrew Williams, bass; Brandon Blackwell, Jonathan Bowles, Brantley Faulk, Christine Halferty, Rachel Hebert, Cameron Hunt, Alex Richardson, Timothy Riley, Jacob Surak, Morgan Taylor, Megan Williams and Shelton Yonce; cello; Jon Aldinger, Alex Coggins, Miranda Cox, Hanna Denney, Gina Elkins, Brian Farchione, Dolton Hill, Matthew Laurence, Jill Mooney, Phoebe Ngo, Collin Richardson, Stephanie Shirey and Amber Snelgrove. viola; Tabitha Backman, Brianna Chavarria, Ellie Chao, Taylor Cordovano, Sidney Cutter, Brett Fenstermaker, Daniel Free, Kyland Gadson, Caroline Gates, Garret Gunter, Ashbelle Henry, Lilly Herpst, Joshua Lathrop, Travis Lee, Shelby Lindler, Madison Lucas, Haleigh Marcolini, Kirstin McVeigh, Josh Mims, Molly Moore, David Neely, Rebekah Ravago, Danyelle Riley, Nikil Sairam, Taylor Sigler, Zach Smith, Sarah Stillinger, Heather Stork, Reid Tidwell, Matthew Treaster, Brandon Weed, Lucy Young and Qiang Zhang, violin.


ARMY SPEC. SHAWN A. McDONALD has completed basic combat training at Fort Sill, Lawton, Okla. McDonald is a 1998 graduate of Glenforest School.

ARMY PVT. DAMYEN A. PALMER has completed basic infantry training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga. He is the son of Dewanda Palmer of Hopkins.

ARMY PVT. JARED W. SCOTT has completed basic infantry training at Fort Benning, Columbus, Ga. The son of Gerald Scott of Irmo, he is a 2011 graduate of Dutch Fork High School.

AIR NATIONAL GUARD AIRMAN 1st CLASS JOSEPH A. SZOKE has completed basic military training at Lackland Air Force Base, San Antonio, Texas. The son of Joseph and Celyn Szoke of Hopkins, he is a 2011 graduate of A.C. Flora High School.

ARMY NATIONAL GUARD PVT. VINCENT D. TREZEVANT has completed basic combat training at Fort Sill, Lawton, Okla. The son of Latitia Trezevant of Columbia, he is a 2010 graduate of C.A. Johnson High School.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos