RANTIN: Lexington Co. assistant principal makes Capitol appearance

04/29/2014 9:31 PM

04/29/2014 9:32 PM

Pleasant Hill Middle School assistant principal Michele Zee took a recent trip to Capitol Hill.

The Lexington administrator was named the 2014 Middle School Assistant Principal of the Year by the S.C. Association of School Administrators. Earlier this month she was recognized for that achievement by the National Association of Secondary School Principals in Washington D.C.

Zee was honored as part of the NASSP/Virco National and State Assistant Principals of the Year Program.

During her three-day trip, Zee spent a day on Capitol Hill meeting with local legislators to discuss education bills and their effect on schools, including middle school reform and private school vouchers. She also attended a black-tie awards ceremony, where U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan presented the keynote address.

“There are no great schools without great teams, without great principals, and without great assistant principals,” Duncan said during the gala. “As a parent, thank you so much. If we could find ways to clone you guys, clone your expertise…we have a chance to take education to an entirely different level in this country.”

Zee was selected by a panel of judges based on criteria established by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

The Washington visit was planned in conjunction with National Assistant Principals Week, which was formally declared by a Senate resolution. During the week, NASSP and others honored and recognized the contributions of assistant principals to the success of students in schools nationwide.

Richland 1 seeks Hall of Fame nominations

Richland 1 is accepting nominations for its 2014 Hall of Fame induction class.

The distinction recognizes living or deceased individuals who have made significant contributions to the school district, their communities, their professions or society as a whole.

Nominees may include, but are not restricted to, Richland 1 alumni. However, current district employees, school board members and other current elected officials are not eligible.

Eligibility criteria and nomination forms may be downloaded by visiting www.richlandone.org. and clicking the Hall of Fame link.

Submit nominations to the Richland One Office of Communications, 1616 Richland St., Columbia, SC 29201.

The deadline is 5 p.m. June 23.

About Bertram Rantin

Bertram Rantin


Bertram Rantin is The State's metro columnist with a current focus on the inspirational people and community helpers in Columbia, SC, and the Midlands. Rantin has covered a variety of areas during his tenure at the newspaper including local government, schools, sports, features, transportation, volunteerism and non profits. Email Bertram at brantin@thestate.com or call him at (803) 771-8306.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service