May 24, 2014

State treasurer: Brian F. Adams (R)

Date of birth, including year: 1963

Date of birth, including year: 1963

Number of years living in the district you seek to represent: 16 years in SC

Family (name of spouse, number and ages of children if at home, number of grown children): Spouse: Terri Adams (married 21 years); Children: Kelli Adams (19). Grant Adams (18), Tyler Adams (16)

Education: Bachelor of Science, Computer Science – Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan

Current occupation/employer: Small Business Owner – Consultant (Information Technology, Disaster Recovery / Business Continuity Planning)

Employment, military and volunteer history: Employment: Past 15 years in Information Technology Leadership. Prior to that manufacturing operations, sales and marketing and consulting (please see my LinkedIn profile for details: www.linkedin.com/in/brianfadams)

Volunteer: Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Member / Spartanburg County, Spartanburg County Search and Rescue Team, Youth Soccer Coach and Referee

Military: None

Please list all public offices to which you’ve been elected, when and where: None

Please list year and office of any unsuccessful runs for public office: None

Other political and government experience: I have volunteered on campaigns for approximately 16 years.

Key endorsements you’ve received:

Former State Treasurer Converse Chellis,

State Senator Kevin Bryant (to be announced early next week),

Sam Griswold – former President of State Retirees Association of SC (SRASC),

Wayne Bell – President Emeritus SRASC,

Wayne Pruitt – Treasurer SRASC.

1. What makes you the most qualified person to hold this position? (Be specific.)

Throughout my career I have demonstrated the ability to find and implement solutions to complex challenges. I am the person seeking this office that would like to remove politics from the decision making process. This is an office that requires stewardship and service, not the constant political grandstanding that we have witnessed for three years. I want to protect and grow the State's assets, not my own.

2. What will be your top three priorities if you are elected? (100 words for each issue)

1. Restore the reputation of the office with financial institutions inside and outside of our state, the General Assembly, state government agencies, and state retirees.

2. Work with, rather than in conflict with state leaders and financial professionals.

3. I will work to seek out the best financial paths to follow with regards to the state retirement system, local investment pools, cash management, and banking. I believe decisions now are being based on building political capital not economic capital.

3a. For non-incumbents: How would your approach to your job differ from the incumbent’s?

I would work in conjunction with the Retirement Systems Investment Commission, the Budget Control Board, the General Assembly and the Governor to find real solutions to the financial challenges facing the state. The incumbent has spent his term promoting himself at the expense of the reputation of many hard working professionals that are trying to move the state forward. Taxpayers deserve results not rhetoric.

4. Describe at least one significant political position you hold that would clash with your political base.

I would make decisions based on their merit, not whether some special interest group believes it's the right thing to do. I would always ask...Is it in the best financial interest of the state and the people of South Carolina? Not whether it will help me get my party's nomination.

5. Have you ever been convicted of a crime, been disciplined by a professional licensing board or organization or had an ethics complaint filed against you? If so, please give the details.


6. Have you ever filed for bankruptcy or been delinquent on your federal, state or local taxes? If so, please give the details.


7. Are there any personal details about you that voters would be interested in knowing?

I moved to South Carolina the day after Hurricane Hugo struck the coast and spent the next two weeks helping my brother and his neighbors on James Island clean up after the storm. I met my wife in Mt. Pleasant and we were married at the gazebo at Battery Park. After 14 years as a ‘soccer dad’, coach and referee, my children and I were recently trained as Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) members by the Spartanburg County Emergency Management Office. I also prepared to serve my community by gaining certification as a search and rescue team member. My daughter is completing her first year at the College of Charleston, and my son will be attending Clemson in the fall. My wife is a teacher’s assistant in the Spartanburg County school system.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos