The Buzz

February 12, 2014

ELECTION 2014: Anthony adds 50 grassroots endorsements in schools chief race

The Buzz

A blog from The State's political team of Cassie Cope, Jamie Self and Andy Shain. Email tips to

State Rep. Mike Anthony's campaign for state Superintendent of Education released a list of endorsements from 50 grassroots Democrats, made up of county chairs, executive committee members, delegates to the state convention, and former elected officials, according to the campaign.

Anthony, D-Union, and a retired high-school football coach and public-school teacher for 30 years, has represented Union and Laurens counties in the state House since 2003.

He faces one challenger for the state schools' chief post in June's Democratic primary.

Montrio Belton of Fort Mill, also a former public school principal and teacher, is running for the seat. Belton also worked for about a year as director of School Transformation for the S.C. Department of Education.

Six Republicans have lined up for the GOP nomination. Republican Superintendent Mick Zais is not seeking re-election.

"I am overwhelmed by the amount of grassroots support our campaign has received so far," Anthony said of the endorsements. "These folks are true leaders in the party and in their community. They are the building block of our campaign. They’ll help us get our message out from the mountains to the coast and everywhere in between.”

The endorsements:

Anne Watson – President, Charleston County Democratic Women Audrey Witherspoon – Greenwood County Bob Aubin – Charleston County Boyd Brown - DNC Committee Member - Former State Representative - Fairfield County Brady Quirk-Garvin - Charleston County Carol Fowler - Former Chairman, South Carolina Democratic Party Carol Kelley – Greenville County Carolyn Keese – Oconee County Cynthia Potter Smith, Ph.D. – York County Danny Shaw – National Distinguished Principal – Richland County David Blackmon, Ph.D. - Former Chairman, SC Board of Education - Darlington County David Pitts – Laurens County David Stewart – Lexington County Derek Lampe – Oconee County Dr. Nancy Moore – Charleston County Ellis Jenkins – Union County Eric Hayler – Spartanburg County Floyd McGurk – Greenville County Francee Levin – Richland County George Kanuck – Beaufort County James Byrum - Richland County Jane Pulling - Berkeley County Jim Bryan – Laurens County Joel Arnold – Oconee County John Giles – Beaufort County Johnnie Fulton – Greenville County Joseph Guess - Bamberg County Kaye Martell – Greenville County Laurie Walden - Richland County Lonnie Hosey – Chairman, Barnwell County Democratic Party Maggie James – Chester County School Board Maria Steve – Charleston County Michael Carter – Horry County Michael R. Thompson – Spartanburg County Mickey Gist - Union County Norval Davis - Greenwood County Pam Hricik - Charleston County Ray James – NEA Director for SC Rebecca Tinsley - Anderson County Richard Glover, Jr – Beaufort County Rose Pellatt – Spartanburg County Sally Howard – Horry County Sandra Ray, Ph.D. – Richland County Sheryl Mack – Charleston County Susan Cyr – Greenville County Tim Moore – Former Chairman, SC Board of Education – Barnwell County Tom Davies – Spartanburg County Vida Miller – Former State Representative – Georgetown County Wayne Wicker - Laurens County Will Maxey – Former 3rd Vice Chair – SC Democratic Party – Horry County William Rogers - Marlboro County William Salter - Lexington County Zerno Martin – Spartanburg County

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos