The Buzz

August 27, 2014

Bakari Sellers unveils leadership team for Lt. Gov. bid

The Buzz

A blog from The State's political team of Cassie Cope, Jamie Self and Andy Shain. Email tips to

Democratic lieutenant governor candidate Bakari Sellers has announced a statewide leadership team.

“My leadership team is made of people from all over our state, and from all walks of life; this team represents my commitment to move South Carolina forward,” said Sellers, a state representative facing Republican Henry McMaster in November.

The group includes:

Bobby Crosby, State Executive Committee Member, Abbeville County

Leslie Price, Aiken City Council, Aiken County

Teresa Harper, Community Organizer, Aiken County

Beverly Clyburn, Former City of Aiken, Councilwoman, Aiken County

William Robinson, County Councilman, Allendale County

Woody Gooding, Attorney, Allendale County

Sandra Gantt, Pendleton Town Council, Anderson County

Joey Oppermann, Attorney, Anderson County

Chris Pracht, Attorney, Anderson County

Craig Walker, Retired military, Bamberg County

Jerry Bell, Executive Director Bamberg County Chamber of Commerce, Bamberg County

Ms. Kathy Schwarting, Executive Director Palmetto Care Connections, Bamberg County

Gerald Wright, Mayor of Denmark, Bamberg County

David Kenner, Vice Chair Barnwell County Council, Barnwell County

Lonnie Hosey, SC House of Representatives, Barnwell County

Thomas Williams, City Council, Barnwell County

John Glover, Community organizer, Beaufort County

Blaine Lotz, Beaufort County Democratic Party Chairman, Beaufort County

Terry Bergeron, Media relations specialist, Beaufort County

Tim Singleton, Proprietor, Beaufort County

Melissa Watson, Berkeley County Democratic Party Chairwoman, Berkeley County

Jane Pulling, Retired educator, Berkeley County

Russell Ott, SC House of Representatives, Calhoun County

Melvin Hart, Black News Media, Calhoun County

Peter Tecklenburg, Charleston County Auditor, Charleston County

Brady Quirk-Garvin, Charleston County Democratic Party Chair, Charleston County

Lucille Whipper, Former member of SC House of Representatives, Charleston County

Abe Jenkins, community organizer, Charleston County

Olin Huffman, Cherokee County Democratic Party Chairman, Cherokee County

Andrea Douglas, University lecturer/graduate program coordinator, Chester County

Clarissa Douglas, Community organizer, Chester County

James Sweeney, Community organizer, Chesterfield County

Kevin L. Johnson, SC State Senator, Clarendon

Ed Williams, Community organizer, Colleton County

Robert Bonds, Attorney, Colleton County

Gerald Malloy, SC State Senator, Darlington County

Glenn Bell, Attorney, Darlington County

Jackie E. “Coach” Hayes, SC House of Representatives, Dillon County

David M. Pascoe, Solicitor, First Judicial Circuit, Dorchester County

Terrence Culbreath, Mayor of Johnston City, Edgefield County

Debra Barley, Retired Law Enforcement, Edgefield County

Boyd Brown, Former member of SC House of Representatives & Democratic National Committee Man, Fairfield County

Sheila Gallagher, retired educator, Florence County

Terry Alexander, SC House of Representatives, Florence County

Susan Smith, President SC Democratic Women’s Council, Georgetown County

Rev. Darian Blue, Greenville County

Lillian Brock-Flemming Vice Mayor Pro-Tem Greenville City Council, Greenville County

Jill Littlejohn, Greenville City Council, Greenville County

Xanthene Norris, Greenville City Council, Greenville County

Nick A. Theodore, Former Lieutenant Governor of SC, Greenville County

Roxanne Walker Cordonier, Community activist, Greenville County

Floyd Nicholson, SC State Senator, Greenwood County

Betty Rose Horne, retired educator, Greenwood County

Alex Murdaugh, Attorney, Hampton County

Shedron Williams, County Councilman, Hampton County

Steve Adams, Businessman, Horry County

Chris Johnston, Hotelier, Horry County

Sally P. Howard, Chair Emeritus of Horry County Democratic Party, Horry County

Lori Church, Controller, Coastal Carolina University, Horry County

Cedric Spain, State Executive Committee Member of Horry County Democratic Party, Horry County

Rick Elliot, President, Elliot Beach Rentals, Horry County

Clementa Pinckney, SC State Senator, Jasper County

Stephen Sutusky, Educator, Kershaw County

Nissary Wood, Former school board member, Kershaw County

Dr. Douglas Rucker, Rucker Dentistry, Lancaster County

Mandy Powers Norrell, SC House of Representatives, Lancaster County

Dr. Bobby Bailey, Retired educator, Lancaster County

Ed McDaniel, Businessman, Laurens County

Grady Brown, SC House of Representatives, Lee County

Ed Greenleaf, Senior Vice President, Scarlett Surveys International, Lexington County

Brandon Willis, Community organizer, Lexington County

Doug Jones, Community organizer, Lexington County

Wayne George, SC House of Representatives, Marion County

Elista Smith, County Council Vice Chairperson, Marion County

Isaac Black, Community Organizer, Marion County

Brittany Jones, Community organizer, Marlboro County

Alonzo Harrison, Former County Council Chairman, McCormick County

Jerry Goldman, Former Chairman of McCormick County Democratic Party, McCormick County

Paula Jean Goldman, Community organizer, McCormick County

Patricia Caldwell, Executive Director First Steps Newberry, Newberry County

Broderick Little, businessman, Newberry County

Rosellen Aleguire, Oconee County Democratic Party Chairwoman, Oconee County

Joe Garvin, School Board Orangeburg County District 4, Orangeburg County

Kenneth Glover, Businessman, Orangeburg County

Betty Henderson, Orangeburg County Democratic Party Chairwoman, Orangeburg County

Daniel Correll, Pickens County Democratic Party Chairman, Pickens County

Pat Martin, Community organizer, Pickens County

Brian DeQuincey Newman, City of Columbia, Councilman, Richland County

Leon Howard, SC House of Representatives, Richland County

Jalisa Washington, Second Vice Chair of Richland County Democratic Party, Richland County

Teresa Butler, Community organizer, Saluda County

Michael Brown, County Council, Spartanburg County

Brenda Lee Price, Retired Legislator, Spartanburg County

Allen Bailey, Sumter County Democratic Party Chairman, Sumter County

Mike Anthony, SC House of Representatives, Union County

Mickey Gist, Community organizer, Union County

Jeanie Brown-Burrows, State Executive Committee Member of Williamsburg County Democratic Party, Williamsburg County

Doward Harvin, Attorney, Williamsburg County

Nikita Jackson, Community Liason for Agape Hospice-Piedmont/Upstate Region, York County

Jim Morton, Attorney, York County

John King, SC House of Representatives, York County

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos