Clemson University

September 14, 2012

Basketball: Ajukwa picks Clemson

Cardinal Newman standout Austin Ajukwa committed to Clemson while on an unofficial visit Thursday. He picked Clemson over USC.

Cardinal Newman standout Austin Ajukwa committed to Clemson while on an unofficial visit Thursday. He picked Clemson over USC.

“I just figure out that it was the right place for me,” Ajukwa said. “It’s a family down here.”

Ajukwa averaged 24 points, nine rebounds and three assists per game last season, and Clemson coach Brad Brownell sold him on the idea of being an early contributor.

“He wants players who can make baskets and that’s why he wanted me really bad,” Ajukwa said.

Ajukwa’s decision comes a day after an in-home visit with USC coach Frank Martin.

“It wasn’t an easy decision,” he said. “I had to give South Carolina great consideration, and they are trying to do some good things.”

Ajukwa is Clemson’s second commitment for the 2013 class.

Phil Kornblut

Clemson announces schedule

Clemson released its 2012-13 basketball schedule, which includes the program’s first 18-game ACC schedule and a non-conference slate that boasts home games against Arizona and Purdue.

The Tigers also add a trip to Orlando, Fla., for the Old Spice Classic over the Thanksgiving holiday, where they will open against Gonzaga.

“We have a very challenging schedule,” Clemson coach Brad Brownell said. “We’re unbelievably excited to bring Purdue and Arizona to Littlejohn Coliseum. They’re perennial NCAA teams. It’s unbelievably hard to get those kind of games at home. Hopefully our fans will understand how special that is.”

The Tigers’ 18-game ACC schedule will feature home-and-home series against Boston College, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami, N.C. State, Virginia and Virginia Tech. Clemson will play home games only against North Carolina and Wake Forest, and road games only against Duke and Maryland.

Clemson’s 2012-13 schedule

DATE OPPONENT TIME
Mon, Nov. 5 Lander (Exhibition) 7 p.m.
Mon, Nov. 12 Presbyterian 7 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 16 at Furman 7 p.m.
Old Spice Classic at Orlando Fla.
Thu, Nov. 22 vs. Gonzaga 9 p.m.
Fri, Nov. 23 vs. Oklahoma/UTEP TBA
Sun, Nov. 25 vs. TBA TBA
Wed, Nov. 28 Purdue 7:15 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 2 at South Carolina Noon
Sat, Dec. 8 Arizona 8 p.m.
Sat, Dec. 15 Florida A&M 7 p.m.
Wed, Dec. 19 at Coastal Carolina 7 p.m.
Sun, Dec. 23 S.C. State 2 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 1 The Citadel 4 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 5 Florida State 4 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 8 at Duke 7 p.m.
Sat, Jan. 12 Virginia Noon
Tue, Jan. 15 Wake Forest 7 p.m.
Sun, Jan. 20 at N.C. State 6 p.m.
Thu, Jan. 24 at Florida State 8 p.m.
Sun, Jan. 27 Virginia Tech 1 p.m.
Tue, Jan. 29 Georgia Tech 7 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 2 at Boston College Noon
Thu, Feb. 7 at Virginia 7 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 10 N.C. State 1 p.m.
Thu, Feb. 14 at Georgia Tech 7 p.m.
Sun, Feb. 17 Miami 6 p.m.
Sat, Feb. 23 at Maryland Noon
Thu, Feb. 28 North Carolina 7 p.m.
Sat, March 2 at Virginia Tech 8 p.m.
Tue, March 5 Boston College 7 p.m.
Sat, March 9 at Miami 2:30 p.m.
ACC tournament at Greensboro, N.C.
Thu, March 14 TBA

Related content

Comments

Videos

Sports Videos