Coaches name Clemson’s Boyd offensive player of year

12/05/2012 10:51 PM

12/05/2012 10:52 PM

The ACC on Wednesday announced the inaugural All-ACC Football Team as selected by the league’s 12 coaches.

This year, for the first time under the auspices of the ACC, the league’s 12 football coaches voted for an All-ACC team, as well as Players of the Year, Rookies of the Year and a Coach of the Year award. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Clemson’s junior QB Tajh Boyd was selected by the ACC Coaches as Offensive and Overall Player of the Year for a record-breaking campaign which saw Boyd lead the Tigers to a 10-2 record, a No. 14 ranking in the BCS while setting ACC single game (8) and season (41) records for touchdown responsibility.

Florida State junior defensive end Bjoern Werner (Berlin, Germany) was selected the league’s Defensive Player of the Year after leading the conference in quarterback sacks (13.0) and placing second in tackles for loss (18.0).

Clemson, Florida State and North Carolina each had five players chosen to the first team, though UNC had six first-team picks as running back Giovani Bernard was named to the first-team offense as a running back, while also earning first-team specialist accolades. All of Clemson’s first-team honorees were on offense, while four of FSU’s five were on defense.

There were four unanimous first-team selections — Clemson’s Boyd and wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins, and North Carolina’s Bernard on offense and Florida State defensive end Cornellius Carradine on defense.

Joining Boyd and Hopkins on the first team for Clemson were running back Andre Ellington, tight end Brandon Ford and center Dalton Freeman. Clemson offensive tackle Brandon Thomas and place-kicker Chandler Catanzaro were second-team selections.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service