After further review, Clowney's big hit was legal
07/30/2013 1:54 PM
07/30/2013 2:07 PM
“The Hit” will not lead to “An Ejection” college football officials have recently decided.
Doug Rhoads, the ACC’s coordinator of officials, raised the possibility last week that South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney’s famous tackle in the Outback Bowl would lead to an automatic ejection under new rules taking effect this year that strengthen the penalty for head-to-head contact.
However, Steve Shaw, Rhoads’ counterpart in the SEC, told the Tim Brando radio show on Tuesday that coordinators from college football’s major conferences have since discussed the issue and come to the agreement that no penalty should be called on plays like Clowney’s.
“Steve Shaw on @TimBrando: All the conference head of officials are now on the same page, the Clowney hit was not targeting. It was legal,” show producer Patrick Netherton posted on his Twitter account during Brando’s interview with Shaw.
Clowney was not penalized for the play, which caused a game-changing fumble, and no one had raised the possibility of it being an illegal hit until last week, when Rhoads was asked during ACC meetings.
Join the Discussion
The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.