7 Gamecocks earn All-SEC nods from coaches

Mike Davis named to first team

08/21/2014 7:23 PM

08/21/2014 7:25 PM

The SEC released its coaches’ choices for preseason all-conference honors on Thursday and several South Carolina players were on them. Like the media’s preseason team, though, there was a scarcity on the first team.

Running back Mike Davis was the only USC player on the first team, which was one more Gamecock than the media’s team. Davis was on the media’s second team along with A.J. Cann and Corey Robinson, while Brison Williams made the third team.

Cann, Robinson and Pharoh Cooper (return specialist) each made the coaches’ second team while Williams made the third team. Williams was joined on the third team by Brandon Shell, J.T. Surratt and Cooper (as an all-purpose player).


First-team offense
TE O.J. Howard Alabama
OL La'el Collins LSU
OL Cedric Ogbuehi Texas A&M
OL Arie Kouandjio Alabama
OL Laremy Tunsil Ole Miss
C Reese Dismukes Auburn
WR Amari Cooper Alabama
WR Sammie Coates Auburn
QB Nick Marshall Auburn
RB Todd Gurley Georgia
RB Mike Davis South Carolina
AP Christion Jones Alabama

First-team defense
DL Dante Fowler, Jr. Florida
DL Robert Nkemdiche Ole Miss
DL Trey Flowers Arkansas
DL A'Shawn Robinson Alabama
LB Trey DePriest Alabama
LB A.J. Johnson Tennessee
LB Ramik Wilson Georgia
DB Landon Collins Alabama
DB Vernon Hargreaves III Florida
DB Cody Prewitt Ole Miss
DB Deshazor Everett Texas A&M

First-team special teams
PK Marshall Morgan Georgia
P Drew Kaser Texas A&M
RS Christion Jones Alabama

Second-team offense
TE C.J. Uzomah Auburn
OL A.J. Cann South Carolina
OL Vadal Alexander LSU
OL Corey Robinson South Carolina
OL Chaz Green* Florida
OL Alex Kozan* Auburn
OL John Theus* Georgia
C Evan Boehm Missouri
WR Laquon Treadwell Ole Miss
WR Malcolm Mitchell Georgia
QB Bo Wallace Ole Miss
RB T.J. Yeldon Alabama
RB Alex Collins Arkansas
AP Terrence Magee LSU

Second-team defense
DL Chris Jones Mississippi State
DL Gabe Wright Auburn
DL Alvin Dupree Kentucky
DL Markus Golden Missouri
LB Jordan Jenkins Georgia
LB Benardick McKinney Mississippi State
LB Kwon Alexander LSU
DB Damian Swann Georgia
DB Tre'Davious White LSU
DB Jon Mincy* Auburn
DB Tony Conner* Ole Miss
DB Corey Thompson* LSU

Second-team special teams
PK Colby Delahoussaye LSU
P Sam Irwin-Hill Arkansas
RS Pharoh Cooper South Carolina

Third-team offense
TE Hunter Henry Arkansas
OL Chad Slade Auburn
OL Austin Shepherd Alabama
OL Brandon Shell South Carolina
OL Jarvis Harrison* Texas A&M
OL Mike Matthews* Texas A&M
OL DJ Humphries* Florida
C Ryan Kelly Alabama
WR Jameon Lewis Mississippi State
WR Marquez North Tennessee
QB Dak Prescott Mississippi State
RB Keith Marshall Georgia
RB Matt Jones* Florida
RB Jonathan Williams* Arkansas
AP Pharoh Cooper South Carolina

Third-team defense
DL Montravius Adams Auburn
DL Jermauria Rasco LSU
DL J.T. Surratt South Carolina
DL Danielle Hunter LSU
LB Serderius Bryant Ole Miss
LB Denzel Nkemdiche Ole Miss
LB Antonio Morrison Ole Miss
DB Robenson Therezie Auburn
DB Rashard Robinson LSU
DB Brison Williams South Carolina
DB Jamerson Love Mississippi State

Third-team special teams
PK Andrew Baggett Missouri
P Jamie Keehn LSU
P Taylor Hudson Vanderbilt
RS Andre Debose Florida

Follow on Twitter at @DCTheState

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service