Three Gamecocks named to SEC All-Freshman team

12/12/2013 3:06 PM

12/12/2013 3:15 PM

South Carolina landed three newcomers on the SEC Coaches' All-Freshman Football Team that was announced Thursday.

Linebacker Skai Moore and place kicker Elliott Fry were selected to the team, while Pharoh Cooper earned an all-purpose nod for the offense and a second spot as a return specialist.

The teams were voted on by the SEC's 14 head coaches, who were not able to vote for their own players. Ole Miss wide receiver Laquon Treadwell on Wednesday was named the SEC’s Freshman of the Year.


TE - Hunter Henry, Arkansas OL - Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss; Andrew Jelks, Vanderbilt; Alex Kozan, Auburn; Denver Kirkland, Arkansas C - Jon Toth, Kentucky WR - Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss; Marques North, Tennessee QB – Maty Mauk, Missouri RB – Alex Collins, Arkansas; Kelvin Taylor, Florida AP - Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina


DL - Chris Jones, Mississippi State; A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama; Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss; Darius Philon, Arkansas LB - Darian Claiborne, Texas A&M; Leonard Floyd, Georgia; Skai Moore, South Carolina DB - Vernon Hargreaves, Florida; Tony Conner, Ole Miss; Tre'Davious White, LSU; Cameron Sutton, Tennessee


PK - Elliott Fry, South Carolina P - Johnny Townsend, Florida RS – Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina


Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service