Three Midlands players top all-state lists

02/24/2014 5:23 PM

02/24/2014 5:24 PM

Dreher stars Kaydra Duckett and Tevin Mack and Fairfield Central’s Jada Martin have been named the players of the year in their respective classifications by the South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association.

Duckett, a three-time all-state pick, will play college ball at South Carolina and Mack swept Class 3A top honors, while Martin was voted No. 1 in 2A.

The Midlands lists also includes Irmo’s Jevante Gross, Javis Howard and Ke’Asia Jackson, Spring Valley’s Cierra Carter, Dutch Fork’s Sydney Shull, White Knoll’s Emarius Logan, Airport’s Quan Bovain, A.C. Flora’s Rion Davis, Lower Richland’s Breshay Johnson, Chapin’s ShaLeighya Sulton, Keenan’s Marcus Stroman, Fairfield Central’s Keith Workman, Columbia’s Alexis Foulks and C.A. Johnson’s Peter Goodman.



Jameel Taylor, TL Hanna; Tyreece Brice, South Pointe; Jevante Gross, Irmo; Emarius Logan, White Knoll; Erick White, Sumter; Demetre Rivers, Stratford; D.J. Dobson, Bluffton; John Jenkins, Summerville; Dantez Bennamon, Goose Creek; Chandler Harrison, North Augusta; Javis Howard, Irmo; J.J. Arcega-Whiteside, Dorman; Anthony Johnson, South Pointe; Jamez Rogers, Wando; Randall Shaw, Hillcrest.

Player of Year: L.J. Peak, Gaffney.


Deebo Samuel, Chapman; Andrew Brown, Travelers Rest; Rion Davis, AC Flora; Quan Bovain, Airport; John Gore, Chester; Wes Johnson, Eastside; Quez Fisher, Travelers Rest; Frankie Johnson, Darlington, LaKeith Ingram; Xzavier Barmore, Seneca; Mil Hackett, Emerald; Brady Schuck, James Island; Rodney Keener, Hanahan; Solomon Cooper, Myrtle Beach; Matt Lindsey, North Myrtle Beach.

Player of Year: Tevin Mack, Dreher.


Marcus Stroman, Keenan; Keith Workman, Fairfield Central; Tyre Moore, Academic Magnet; Deriante Jenkins, Lake Marion; Maurice Howard, Saluda; Zach Parker, Mid-Carolina; Montell James, Edisto; Rocquan Frederick, Calhoun County; Terrance Frazier, Ridge.-Hardeeville; Anthony Adger, Crescent; Alex Brown, Mullins; Darnell Rogers, Indian Land; Dyshane Murphy, Kingstree; B.J. Grevey, Bishop England; Bennett WIlson, Newberry.

Player of Year: Deion Holmes, Chesnee.


Tremon Bryant, Calhoun Falls; Hunter Bullock, Southside Christian; Nigel Simpson, Great Falls; Malcolm Stroman, Wagener-Salley; Christopher Harris, St. John’s; Travient Riley, Scotts Branch; Josh Franklin, Johnsonville; Darius Bryant, Calhoun Falls; Malik Harrison, Greenville Tech; Marques Sumner, Fox, Creek, Will Ward, Allendale-Fairfax; Dawayne Gadis, Cross; Tarik Jones, Timmonsville; Peter Goodman, C.A. Johnson; Tyrell Sabb, Latta.

Player of Year: Chris Turner, Denmark-Olar.



Iyanna Jones, Greenwood; Kyia Hough, Lancaster; Khaila Webb, Dorman; Cierra Carter, Spring Valley; Destinee Walker, West Florence; Sydney Shull, Dutch Fork; Deyja Brown, Colleton County; Ke’Asia Jackson, Irmo; Kionna Jeter, Spartanburg; Maya Jackson, West Florence; Tiama Swearinger, Greenwood; Mallory Stone, North Augusta; Heather Chapman, Summerville; Makayla Dudley, Cane Bay; Phoebe Johnson, Lancaster.

Player of Year: Dekeiya Cohen, West Ashley.


Zipporah Scott, BHP; Jada Wallace, Broome; Khyrstal Ellis, Southside; Kaela Mansell, Airport; Keanua Williams, Crestwood; Keocia Walker, Myrtrle Beach; Dejoria Howard, OW; Senora Dengokl, Lakewood; Brittany Houston, Palmetto; Ross Mathis, Blue Ridge; Breshay Johnson, Lower Richland; ShaLeighya Sulton, Chapin; Bryanna Goodson, Wilson; Vondria Ritter, OW; Americal Jenkins, Hilton Head.

Player of Year: Kaydra Duckett, Dreher.


Michele Boykin, Bishop England; Tyshanna Lester, Dillon; Cady Cole, Pendleton; Arnasia Boyd, Newberry; Dareisha Sowell, Andrew Jackson; Shaunice Fulmore, Lake City; Malia Rivers, Central; Daisja Cannon, Battery Creek; Brittany Williams, Kingstree; Jasmine Dameron, Blacksburg; Daquasha Williams, Ninety Six,; Alexis Foulks, Columbia; Jaleah Lasane, Mullins; Brittani McDonald, Mullins; Mary Harriet Moore, Bishop England.

Player of Year: Jada Martin, Fairfield Central.


Narquevia Jennings, McCormick; Imani King, St. Joseph’s; Yashai Pauley; Tyeshia Clark, Blackville Hilda; Ta’Asia Wright, Denmark; Dashana Magwood, Baptist Hill; Takeria Legette, Latta; Alayshia Davis, Calhoun Falls; Kayla Cron, Brashier Middle College Charter; Demeatris Bryant, CA Johnson; Ta’Nauziah Corley, Wagener-Salley; Kemoni Jenkins, Whale Branch; Iesha Mitchell, St. John’s; Justice Gee, Timmonsville

Player of Year: Sade Eli, Timmonsville.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service