Nine coaches ready to enter new South Carolina Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame

08/20/2014 12:11 AM

08/20/2014 12:17 AM

Joe Turbeville, who won three state championships at Spring Valley and one at Irmo in 28 years of coaching, is among the first inductees into the South Carolina Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Combined, the nine coaches have 311 years as a head coach, have won 2,733 football games and 46 state football championships.

The banquet to honor these coaches will be on Dec. 12 at the Landmark Hotel in Myrtle Beach. For more information on the banquet and tickets contact Mike Ware at

The inductees in the 2014 class:

Julius Wistar “Pinky” Babb Greenwood 1943-1981; won 346 games; won eight state championships; 1964, National Coach of the Year; 1976, first high school coach inducted into the Helms Foundation Hall of Fame; 1984, National High School Sports Hall of Fame

Paul Alexander Chapman Chesterfield and Dillon 1968-1989; won 179 games; in 21 years at Dillon-seven region titles and made the playoffs 13 times; Shrine Bowl coach in 1977

John McKissick Summerville 1952-present; won 613 games – more wins than any other coach; won 10 state championships; National Coach of the Year 1980; 1990 National High School Sports Hall of Fame

Bob Rankin Dillon, Berkeley, Johnsonville and Marion 1962-2002; won 313 games; fourth all-time wins in S.C.; In four other halls of fame

William Keith Richardson Clinton 1969-1992; won 241 games; 87.5 percent winning record for playoff games-82 percent regular season; won six state championships and nine Upper State championships

Doug Shaw Myrtle Beach 1970-1994; won 223 games; playoff appearances in 23 of the 25 years; won four state championships and six Lower State championships

Thomas L. Smith Sr. Howard (Georgetown) 1958-1984; coached four players who played professionally – 3 NFL, 1 NBA; won 250 games; won three state championships

Joseph Peter Turbeville Winnsboro, Spring Valley and Irmo 1965-1994; in four other halls of fame; won 239 games and five state titles – Spring Valley (3), Winnsboro (1), Irmo (1)

Willie Leo Varner Woodruff 1954-1996; won 383 games; won 10 state championships; National Football Coach of the Year 1983; 1994 National High School Sports Hall of Fame

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service