Boys' basketball all-state teams

03/10/2010 10:21 AM

03/10/2010 10:22 AM

Midlands players earned eight spots on the South Carolina Basketball Coaches Association all-state boys basketball teams.

The real bonanza was in Class 3A, where five local players made the cut. The list includes Dreher senior Chris Brown (21.1 ppg, 4.3 rpg, 2.5 spg), Lower Richland senior Malcolm Rhett, Fairfield Central senior Mikel Trapp (16.6 ppg, 4.2 rpg), Camden senior Robert “Josh” Council and Brookland-Cayce junior Jonathan Rumph (18.3 ppg, 7.0 rpg, 4.2 apg, 3.1 spg).

Lexington sophomore Shaq Roland (15.3 ppg) and Ridge View senior Jamar Gillespie (20.0 ppg) were slected on the 4A team and Newberry’s Arkeim Young was the lone Midlands pick in 2A,

Class 4A

Bruce Ellington, Berkeley (Player of the year)

DeVontae Wright, Goose Creek

Shaq Roland, Lexington

Devon Davis, North Augusta

Josh Corry, Gaffney

Mark Blackmon, Ft. Mill

Chris Ford, Carolina Forest

Chris Ketter, Hartsville

Fred Mattison, Westside

Ronell Crockett, TL Hanna

RJ Slawson, Fort Dorchester

Matt Kennedy, West Ashley

Jamar Gillespie, Ridge View

Xavier Holloway, Lancaster

Savad Garner, Hillcrest

Dondray Walker, Hillcrest

Class 3A

Damien Leonard, J. L. Mann (Player of the year)

DeAndre Hopkins, Daniel

Lamar Jack, Woodmont

Brandon Boggs, J.L. Mann

Chris Dean, Greer

Chandler Hash, Greer

Malcolm Rhett, Lower Richland

Mikel Trapp, Fairfield Central

Chris Brown, Dreher

Jonathan Rumph, Brookland-Cayce

Jordan Scott, Darlington

Josh Council, Camden

Corey Baker, Lake City

Everett Golson, Myrtle Beach

Brent Evans, Battery Creek

Denzel Myers, North Charleston

Class 2A

Sidney Sanders, Burke (Player of the year)

Dajohn Rowland, Chesnee

Zacchaeus McCullough, Carolina

Arkiem Young, Newberry

Demarkus Smith, Strom Thurmond

Kegan Funderburk, Central Pageland

Ryan Miller, Andrew Jackson

Travis Williams, Silver Bluff

Jonathan Brice Johnson, Edisto

Deljavon Simmons, Burke

Devin Bey, Kingstree

Cory Rush, Andrews

Deonte Johnson, Marion

Jarvis Williams, Dillon

Isaac Williamson, Wallhalla

Jericko Jackson, Abbeville

Class 1A

Torrey Craig, Great Falls (Player of the year)

Cortell Busby, Lewisville

Trey Smith, Ninety Six

Nathan Prater, Ninety Six

Torrance Bryant, McCormick

DeShaun Hall, Landrum

Jay Keller, Southside Christian

Antonio Walker, Williston-Elko

Devonte James, North

Deantre Johnson, Military Magnet

Edmond Robinson, St. John’s

Antonio Fulton, Timmonsville

Fareal Walker, C.E. Murray

Jerrell Adams, Scott’s Branch

Angelo Brown, Carvers Bay

Jazjuan Wilson, Hemingway

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service