Taco Bell Viking Cup recap

03/04/2013 9:37 AM

03/04/2013 11:31 AM

Despite the generally cold and windy conditions, the 20th anniversary Taco Bell Viking Cup girls soccer tournament went off without a hitch at Spring Valley.

Riverside beat Academic Magnet 2-1 in a shootout decision in the championship game on Sunday. Riverside eliminated Lexington in the Sunday morning semifinals, and Academic Magnet, the top-ranked Class 2A team in the state, beat Dutch Fork in overtime.

Lexington went 3-0 to win the Bracket D championship. The Wildcats opened with a 4-0 win ocver Chapin, edged Fort Mill 2-1 and claimed the bracket title with a 2-1 win over Wando. Riverside ended the Lexington run with a 1-0 win in the semifinals.

Dutch Fork opened with a 7-0 romp against Ridge View, but lived on the edge the rest of the way. The Silver Foxes nipped Hilton Head 3-2 in the second round and beat Mauldin 3-2 in a shootout for the Bracket B title. Academic Magnet finished the Foxes with a golden goal for 3-2 win in the semifinals.

“It was a very evenly played match between two deserving teams,” said Riverside coach Terry Archenhold, whose team has won multiple Viking Cup championship through the years.

Archenhold had high praise for the people who make the Viking Cup the premier high school girls soccer tournament in the state, including Spring Valley coach and tournament driving force Steve Lea.

“Steve does a terrific job,” he said. “I mean, this is the showcase tournament of all showcase tournaments. When you win this won, you’ve won something.”

Academic Magnet star Kallie Puerifoy, who scored the Raptors lone goal in regulation in the final and tallied the overtime goal against Dutch Fork, was the recipient of the Ashley Nicole Dent Scholarship, which is presented annually to the senior MVP of the tournament by Taco Bell.

The local report card: Dutch Fork (3-1), Lexington (3-1), Blythewood (2-1), Brookland-Cayce (2-1), Spring Valley (2-1), A.C. Flora (1-1-1), Cardinal Newman (1-1-1), Chapin (1-2), Ridge View (1-2), White Knoll (1-2), Irmo (0-3).

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The State is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service