High School Sports

July 29, 2013

Baxter: Boiling Springs up to challenge

THE THIRD ANNUAL QB1 Quarterback Challenge is in the books.

THE THIRD ANNUAL QB1 Quarterback Challenge is in the books.

Showcasing some of the top quarterbacks and wide receivers from South and North Carolina, this competition was intense.

When it was all over, it was Boiling Springs High quarterback Daniel Thompson and Boiling Springs High wide receiver Jason Hill who took the overall championship for their respective positions.

“The competition was great,” said Thompson, the brother of USC quarterback Dylan Thompson. “Most of these guys know each other from other camps and are friends, and so the friendly smack talk kind of fuels the competition.”

Thompson was not a surprise winner. The 6-foot, 195-pound junior has won his class at this event each year and has been in contention for the overall award for the past two years.

Hill, 5-10, 179, has been coming to QB1 Training Days in the offseason and his work showed in the competition. The wide receiver category was tight in scoring between four players.

In a late round, the leader had a dropped ball, and in the final round, the Red Zone, Hill made an acrobatic, one-handed catch on a ball that had been scored “uncatchable” by the quarterback. That catch put him out in front.

Boiling Springs High junior tight end Collin Reed won the junior class wide receiver category. He was in contention for the overall title.

The 6-4, 225-pounder took home a scholarship offer from Newberry College. Division II coaches can attend these events, but Division I and III coaches cannot.

Nation Ford High quarterback Dalton Helms tied with Irmo’s Demetrius Lewis and Cane Bay’s Devin Kilgore for the senior class award at quarterback. D.W. Daniel High’s Andy McCall won the junior class, Hillcrest’s Collin Sneed won the sophomore class, and Wando’s Oliver Michaud won the freshman class.

Summerville High tight end Sean Smith won the senior class for receivers, Reed and South Florence’s Tabari Hines won the junior class, Lexington’s Jayson Hopper won the sophomore award, and White Knoll’s Ayden Fields captured the freshman class award.

Related content



Sports Videos