Latest News

McKinley, Brinkley make SEC first team

Senior receiver Kenny McKinley and junior linebacker Jasper Brinkley made the the SEC’s preseason All-SEC team, as picked by the media and announced this morning. Three others made the second team.

That’s close to the conclusion the coach’s came to, other than junior cornerback Captain Munnerlyn making the first team. Munnerlyn was a second-team pick by the media.

Munnerlyn was joined on the second team by junior linebacker Eric Norwood and senior Ryan Succop.

Succop was picked at punter, even though he’s probably going to cede those duties to Spencer Lanning, allowing Succop to concentrate on place-kicking. LSU’s Colt David was the first-team place-kicker.

McKinley got the second-most votes (46) at receiver, followed only by Percy Harvin (68). The media were asked to just vote for the first team.

Brinkley got the third-most votes (41) at linebacker, behind Florida’s Brandon Spikes (65) and Rico McCoy (46) and ahead of LSU’s Darry Beckwith and Georgia’s Dannell Ellerbe (tied with 40).

Munnerlyn got 20 votes, well behind the top four picks at defensive back. Norwood got 14 votes, and Succop received 20.

No major surprises for other teams, although a couple things stand out:

- While Tim Tebow was the clear first-team pick, six voters left him off their ballot in favor of Georgia’s Matt Stafford. (In the coaches vote, Stafford received one of the 12 votes.)

- Ole Miss Greg Hardy (53) votes was the top defensive linemen, which should be expected given his massive potential, but interesting considering his off-field issues.

- Georgia running back Knoshown Moreno was left off of two ballots. Considering you could vote for two running backs, I’d be curious what those two guys were smoking. (Tennessee’s Arian Foster also made the first team with 50 votes, with Mississippi State’s Anthony Dixon and Auburn’s Ben Tate making second team. Wait, there you go - an Auburn guy got two votes.)