Latest News

Four Gamecocks earn SEC postseason honors

Devan Downey was named to the All-SEC first team by conference coaches for the second consecutive year on Tuesday.

Downey is the first Gamecock to earn back-to-back first-team honors since B.J. McKie did so for the 1997-98 and 1998-99 seasons.

Dominique Archie and Zam Fredrick were named to the second-team.

Brandis Raley-Ross was named the league’s sixth man of the year. The junior guard is averaging 6.2 points per game.

Downey and Archie were named to the league’s all-defensive team, which included six players. Downey led the SEC in steals for the second consecutive season, and Archie ranks in the SEC’s top 10 in steals and blocks.

LSU’s Marcus Thornton was named the player of the year, and first-year LSU coach Trent Johnson was named coach of the year. Johnson guided the Tigers to a 13-3 league record and the SEC’s regular-season championship.

The Associated Press postseason awards are expected to be announced Monday.

Coaches’ All-SEC teams

First team

*Nick Calathes, Florida, G

*Jodie Meeks, Kentucky, G/F

Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, G/F

Tasmin Mitchell, LSU, F

*Marcus Thornton, LSU, G

Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, F/C

*Devan Downey, USC, G

*Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F

Second team

Alonzo Gee, Alabama, G

Michael Washington, Arkansas, F

Korvotney Barber, Auburn, F

#Garrett Temple, LSU, G

David Huertas, Mississippi, G

Terrico White, Mississippi, G

#Dominique Archie, USC, F

#Zam Fredrick, USC, G

Wayne Chism, Tennessee, F

A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C

All-freshman team

*JaMychal Green, Alabama, F

Courtney Fortson, Arkansas, G

Erving Walker, Florida, G

Trey Thompkins, Georgia, F

*Terrico White, Mississiippi, G

*Dee Bost, Mississippi State, G

Scotty Hopson, Tennessee, G

Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt, G/F

All-defensive team

#Dominique Archie, USC, F

Devan Downey, USC, G

#Quantez Robertson, Auburn, G

Garrett Temple, LSU, G

Chris Johnson, LSU, C

*Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, F/C

Coach of the year: Trent Johnson, LSU

Player of the year: Marcus Thornton, LSU

Scholar-athlete of the year: Justin Knox, Alabama

Freshman of the year: Terrico White, Ole Miss

Sixth-man of the year: Brandis Raley-Ross, USC

Defensive player of the year: Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State

*-Unanimous selection

#-Ties are not broken