Latest News

Downey named to All-SEC first team

LSU has taken the top two awards on The Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference team.

Senior guard Marcus Thornton was named player of the year Monday, and Trent Johnson took the coach of the year award after leading the Tigers to a 26-7 record, the SEC's regular-season championship (13-3) and a spot in the NCAA tournament in his first season with the Tigers.

Terrico White of Mississippi was named newcomer of the year.

Thornton, who averages 20.7 points a game, was a unanimous first-team selection. He was joined by the SEC's top scorer, Jodie Meeks of Kentucky (24.2), along with South Carolina's Devan Downey, Tennessee's Tyler Smith, Mississippi State's Jarvis Varnado, Florida's Nick Calathes and LSU's Tasmin Mitchell.

Varnado, Calathes and Mitchell tied for the final first-team spot.


The 2009 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men's basketball team released Monday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team; t-tied for final spot on first team):


u-Marcus Thornton, LSU, G, 6-4, Sr.

Devan Downey, South Carolina, G, 5-9, Jr.

Jodie Meeks, Kentucky, G, 6-4, Jr.

Tyler Smith, Tennessee, F, 6-7, Jr.

t-Jarvis Varnado, Mississippi State, F-C, 6-9, Jr.

t-Nick Calathes, Florida, G, 6-6, So.

t-Tasmin Mitchell, LSU, F, 6-7, Jr.


Patrick Patterson, Kentucky, F, 6-9, So.

Korvotney Barber, Auburn, F, 6-7, Sr.

Alonzo Gee, Alabama, G, 6-6, Sr.

David Huertas, Mississippi, G, 6-5, Jr.

Terrico White, Mississippi, G, 6-5, Fr.

Michael Washington, Arkansas, F, 6-9, Jr.


Dominique Archie, South Carolina, F, 6-7, Jr.; Wayne Chism, Tennessee, F, 6-9, Jr.; Chris Johnson, LSU, 6-11, Sr.; A.J. Ogilvy, Vanderbilt, C, 6-11, So.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Marcus Thornton, LSU

COACH OF THE YEAR — Trent Johnson, LSU

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR — Terrico White, Mississippi