Latest News

Nov. 3 elections: What towns, who's running

Nine municipalities in Richland and Lexington counties have elections for town leaders next week. All races are nonpartisan.

Arcadia Lakes

- Town Council, two at-large: Tom Clark, Mark Robertson and incumbent Michael Smith. One seat at stake was held by the late Merrelle Harris.

- Mayor: No one filed against Mayor Rick Thomas.


- Mayor: Steve Cain and incumbent James Wiszowaty

- Council District 1: Pansy Buzhardt and incumbent Mark DeLoach

- No one filed to be on the ballot against Town Council District 3 incumbent Steve Cain, District 5 newcomer Sabrena Etheredge, and District 7 incumbent Rita Crapps. But John Burgess has organized a write-in challenge to Cain.


- No one filed against Mayor Stan Shealy and at-large Town Council members Robbie Frick and Leland Teal.


- Town Council, two at-large: Incumbents Hardy King and Barry A. Walker Sr., and Sarah Watson.

- Voters will decide on Sunday sales of beer and wine by the package. The measure would allow retailers in town to sell six-packs of beer and bottles of wine as do nearby stores outside Irmo. It's a move that would end Irmo's status as one of the few areas in Richland County where such sales are barred.


- No one filed against Mayor Charles Haggard

- Town Council, two at-large: incumbents Sam Jackson and Tom Siler and Carlisle Rast

Pine Ridge

- Mayor: Incumbent David Busby and Hazel Kanipe

- Town Council, two at-large: Floyd Dinkins, Robert Myers and incumbent Roger Simpson


- Mayor: David Martin, Doris Simmons and incumbent Ray Spires

- Town Council: No one filed against incumbents Linda Butler in District 1 and Woodrow Davis in District 2.


- Town Council, two at-large: No one filed, so seats will be filled by write-in. Incumbents Henry Hartley and David Reese say they are willing to serve again.

West Columbia

- City Council: In District 5, incumbent Boyd Jones faces Liz Deas. No one filed against incumbents Dale Harley in District 1, Jack Harmon in District 3 and Tommy Parler in District 7.

Related stories from The State in Columbia SC