Latest News

Who's running and where to vote

Nine municipalities in Richland and Lexington counties have elections for town leaders Tuesday. All races are nonpartisan.

Following is a list of candidates, as well as polling places.

Arcadia Lakes

-Town Council, two at-large: Tom Clark, Mark Robertson and incumbent Michael Smith. One seat at stake was held by the late Merrelle Harris.

-Mayor: No one filed against Mayor Rick Thomas.

Polling places: Arcadia, Trenholm Road and Oakwood precincts will vote at North Trenholm Baptist Church, 6515 N. Trenholm Road.


-Mayor: Steve Cain and incumbent James Wiszowaty

-Council District 1: Pansy Buzhardt and incumbent Mark DeLoach

-No one filed to be on the ballot against Town Council District 3 incumbent Steve Cain, District 5 newcomer Sabrena Etheredge, and District 7 incumbent Rita Crapps. But John Burgess has organized a write-in challenge to Cain.

Polling places:

-Holstons (Saluda County residents): Batesburg-Leesville Leisure Center, 227 Highland Ave.

-Mims: Batesburg-Leesville Leisure Center, 227 Highland Ave.

-Batesburg: Batesburg-Leesville Leisure Center, 227 Highland Ave.

-Leesville: Old Leesville Elementary School, 423 College St.

Chapin, Irmo

-No one filed against Chapin Mayor Stan Shealy and at-large Town Council members Robbie Frick and Leland Teal.

-Irmo Town Council, two at-large: Incumbents Hardy King and Barry A. Walker Sr., and Sarah Watson.

-Also in Irmo, voters will decide on Sunday sales of beer and wine by the package. The measure would allow retailers in town to sell six-packs of beer and bottles of wine as do nearby stores outside Irmo. It’s a move that would end Irmo’s status as one of the few areas in Richland County where such sales are barred.

Polling places for Chapin and Irmo:

Lexington County

-Irmo: Irmo Elementary School, 7401 Gibbes St.

-Murraywood: CrossRoads Middle School, Campus 1, 6949 St. Andrews Road

-Quail Valley: St. Andrews Presbyterian Church, 6952 St. Andrews Road

Richland County

-Riverwalk: Harbison Fire Station, 131 Lake Murray Blvd.

-Dutch Fork No. 2: Harbison Fire Station, 131 Lake Murray Blvd.

-Parkridge: Harbison Fire Station, 131 Lake Murray Blvd.

- Friarsgate No. 1: Friarsgate Park, 1712 Chadford Road

-Friarsgate No. 2: H.E. Corley Elementary School, 1500 Chadford Road

-Ballentine: Dutch Fork Elementary, 7900 Broad River Road

-Old Friarsgate: Dutch Fork Elementary, 7900 Broad River Road


-No one filed against Mayor Charles Haggard

-Town Council, two at-large: incumbents Sam Jackson and Tom Siler and Carlisle Rast

Polling places:

-Pelion No. 1 and Pelion No. 2: Pelion Town Hall, 1010 Main St.

Pine Ridge

-Mayor: Incumbent David Busby and Hazel Kanipe

-Town Council, two at-large: Floyd Dinkins, Robert Myers and incumbent Roger Simpson

Polling place:

-Pine Ridge Middle School, 735 Pine Ridge Drive


-Mayor: David Martin, Doris Simmons and incumbent Ray Spires

-Town Council: No one filed against incumbents Linda Butler in District 1 and Woodrow Davis in District 2.

Polling places:

-Swansea No. 1 and Swansea No. 2: Municipal Court Building, 320 West Third St.


-Town Council, two at-large: No one filed, so seats will be filled by write-in. Incumbents Henry Hartley and David Reese say they are willing to serve again.

Polling place:

-Summit Town Hall, 321 Old Broad St.

West Columbia

City Council: In District 5, incumbent Boyd Jones faces Liz Deas. No one filed against incumbents Dale Harley in District 1, Jack Harmon in District 3 and Tommy Parler in District 7.

Polling places:

-West Columbia No. 2: Turner Memorial AME Church, 1122 Monticello St.

-West Columbia No. 4: West Side Baptist Church, 2100 Platt Springs Road

-Hook’s Store: B.C. Grammar School No. 1, 114 Hook Ave.

-Saluda River: Our Savior Lutheran Church, 1500 Sunset Blvd.

-Westover: Providence Presbyterian Church, 1112 Hummingbird Drive