Latest News

The Honorees

James L. Solomon Jr. will receive the John H. Whiteman Award, for his work on the Urban League's board of directors.

Bambi Gaddist will receive the Lincoln C. Jenkins Jr. Leadership Award, for her work in HIV/AIDS prevention. She is executive director of the South Carolina HIV/AIDS Council.

Janice Marshall will receive the Ethel M. Bolden Community Service Award, for her work as director of the James E. Clyburn Scholarship and Research Foundation.

William Horton, a former BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina executive, will receive the President's Award for his work with the Urban League's scholarship and work programs.

Time Warner Cable will receive the Virgil C. Summer Corporate Award, for promoting equal opportunity and social justice.