Developer Bob Hughes has agreed to save and restore the Babcock Building, the laundry, the bakery, the Chapel of Hope and the core of the Williams building. He later decided to re-use a sixth, the Ensor Building, the hospital’s former morgue.
The building with its iconic red cuppola augmented the original Robert Mills-designed asylum building, on nearby Calhoun Street, which had fallen into disrepair and was overcrowded by the 1850s. The Robert Mills building is not included in the sale for the project. The New Asylum was built in four building campaigns, lasting from 1857 to 1885.
MALE AND FEMALE DINING HALLS
Built in 1915 as additions to the Babcock Building, the dining rooms were used until Babcock was shuttered in 1990. But they continued to be used until 2001 as kitchen storage.
BAKERY AND LAUNDRY
The laundry was built in 1884, and destroyed by an earthquake in 1885. Rebuilt, it was destroyed again, this time by fire, in 1887, and rebuilt. The bakery was built in 1900.
CHAPEL OF HOPE
The chapel was built in the 1960s using bricks from an exterior wall torn down to make the campus less isolated from the rest of the city.
The building was constructed beginning in 1938 as a housing facility for drug and alcohol patients.
The two-story masonry Parker Annex was built in 1910 as an overflow dormitory for African-American males.
The building, also built in the early 1900s, was designed as a research laboratory in the style of early 20th century academic and commercial buildings. It also served as a morgue.
BENET AUDITORIUM AND HORGER LIBRARY
Completed in 1955, the Benet Auditorium and Horger Library were some of the first projects built during the “new era of mental health” treatment.
SOURCE: “Digitizing Bull Street,” a project of 16 USC students taught by art history professor Lydia Mattice Brandt