Midlands High School Sports Newsletter

2019 Shrine Bowl rosters well-represented with Gamecock commits

Six future South Carolina Gamecock football players were picked for the 2019 South Carolina-North Carolina Shrine Bowl.

Rosters for the game, to be held Dec. 21 at Wofford College, were released Sunday.

The future Gamecocks picked on the S.C. team were Myrtle Beach QB Luke Doty, Calhoun County OL Tyshawn Wannamaker, Sumter defensive back O’Donnell Fortune, Abbeville offensive lineman Trai Jones and Conway’ defensive lineman Tonka Hemingway.

Doty and Hemingway are two of the top prospects in the state according to 247Sports. Doty, a quarterback, is ranked No. 2 and Hemingway, a defensive lineman, is third. Hemingway’s brother, Junior, played in the all-star game in 2006.

I have seen that kid (Doty) for last three years, it seems like eight,” said SC Shrine Bowl head coach Dean Boyd, who coached against Doty the previous three years at Marlboro County. “We blocked their field goal attempt and Doty came and tackled our guy all the way at the three-yard line. And guy was pretty fast. He could have quit on the play but that is the type of kid with character you want on the team.”

Wannamaker is fifth ranked player in the state and Jones is 10th.

Da’Quon Stewart of North Mecklenburg made it for the North Carolina squad.

SC Shrine Bowl Roster

Justin Abraham, LB, Hartsville; Rontarius Aldridge, DL, South Pointe; Henry Bishop, K, Spartanburg; Will Blackston, TE, Belton Honea Path; Will Boggs, OL, York; Ger-Cari Caldwell, WR, Northwestern; Parker Clements, OL, Lugoff-Elgin; Jalen Coit, WR, Cheraw; Mikele Colasurdo, QB, Chapman; Tylee Craft, WR, Sumter; Cole DeMarzo, DB, Hilton Head Island; Luke Doty, QB, Myrtle Beach; Tylik Edwards, CB, Rock Hill; Khalil Edwards, TE, York; Quay Evans, DL, Chester; O’Donnell Fortune, DB, Sumter; Darin Goss, OL, Carolina Forest; Kevon Haigler, LB, Hartsville; Demetric Hardin, WR, Lewisville; Rahjai Harris, RB, Byrnes; Tonka Hemingway, DL, Conway; Jalin Hyatt, WR, Dutch Fork, Trey Irby, DL, Dutch Fork; Trai Jones, OL, Abbeville; Briggs Kearse, OL, Barnwell; Ty’Quan King, LB, Dillon; Jaylin Lane, WR, Clover; JeMari Littlejohn, LB, Gaffney; Buddy Mack, LB, Byrnes; Nathan Mahaffey, RB, Nation Ford; Duane Martin, LB, Laurens; Xavier McIver, DL, Cheraw; Adam McKanna, OL, Summerville; Christian Miller, DB, Hilton Head Island, DB, Andru Phillips, DB, Mauldin, Jahlyn Shuler, LB, Abbeville; Quamil Spells, DE, Myrtle Beach; Nick Taiste, OL, White Knoll; Jalen Tate, DB, Greenville; Tyler Venables, DB, Daniel; Braden Walker, RB, River Bluff; Tyshawn Wannamaker, OL, Calhoun County; Darryl Ware, LB, Fort Dorchester; De’Shawn Watson, LB, Barnwell

NC Shrine Bowl Roster

Jonathan Adomo, OL, Rolesville; Adam Akins, Southeast Guilford; Jefferson Boaz,QB, East Surry; Devan Boykin, DB, Ragsdale; Jakai Brevard, LB, South Durham; Elijah Burnette, DB, Eastern Alamance; Elijah Burns, RB, Mountain Island Charter; Trey Byers, DB, Ashbrook; Chance Carroll, C, Hough; Anthony Carter, OL, Butler; Roe Chitwood, LB, Myers Park; Will Cob, C, Weddington; Ja’Quirious Conley, DB, Northside Jacksonville; Quinton Cooley, RB, Southern Nash; Grant Copeland C, West Forsyth; Cameron Dalrymple, DB, Wallace-Rose; Nick Dobson, LB, Wallace-Rose; Desmond Evans, DL, Lee County; Maliek Faust, DB, Harding; Tavien Ford, G, Olympic; Taurienne Freeman, LB, Westover; Cedric Gray WR, Audrey Kell; Ray Griet, WR, South Point; Johnny Hassard, OL, West Rowan; Maquel Haywood, RB, Wake Forest; Joshua Karty, K, Western Alamance; Jonathan King, OL, Southern Guilford; Ahmani Marshall, RB, East Forsyth; Mitchell Mayes OL, Leesville Road; J’Vian McCray, DL West Brunswick; Malik McGowen, OL, Charlotte Catholic; Alec Mock, LB, Weddington; Chris Morgan, LB, Maiden; Darius Ocean, QB, Hough; Javondre Paige, QB, Page; Jhari Patterson, WR, AC Reynolds; Stephen Sings DL, Vance; Chance Smith DB, Northeastern; Da’Qon Stewart, WR, North Mecklenburg; Stefon Thompson, LB, Vance; Davin Vann, DL, Cary; Shane Whitter, LB, Walter Williams; G’Mone Wilson, WR, West Forsyth