Sports

Panthers unveil tough 2009 schedule

** FILE ** This Sept. 28, 2008 file photo shows Carolina Panthers head coach John Fox directing his team during the second half of the Panthers' 24-9 win over the Atlanta Falcons in an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C. On Saturday, Jan. 10, 2009,  Fox tries to lead the Panthers to the NFC championship game for the third time in six years.  (AP Photo/Chuck Burton, File)
** FILE ** This Sept. 28, 2008 file photo shows Carolina Panthers head coach John Fox directing his team during the second half of the Panthers' 24-9 win over the Atlanta Falcons in an NFL football game in Charlotte, N.C. On Saturday, Jan. 10, 2009, Fox tries to lead the Panthers to the NFC championship game for the third time in six years. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton, File)

The Carolina Panthers will open the season at home against Philadelphia and have potentially three nationally televised games this season.

The 16-game schedule released Tuesday has the Panthers opening against the Eagles on Sept. 13 at Bank of America Stadium. The Panthers will then visit Atlanta before traveling to Dallas for a Monday night game on Sept. 28.

Carolina possesses the league's second toughest strength of schedule in 2009, according to NFL.com

The Panthers will then have an early bye in Week 4 before returning on Oct. 11 to host Washington.

A year after winning the NFC South, the Panthers will host Miami on Thursday, Nov. 15 in a game televised by NFL Network. The Panthers are also tentatively scheduled to host Minnesota in a Sunday night game on NBC on Dec. 20.

The Panthers close the season Jan. 3 at home against New Orleans.

Wk Date Matchup TV Time
1 Sun, Sept. 13 vs. Philadelphia Eagles FOX 1 p.m.
2 Sun, Sept. 20 at Atlanta Falcons FOX 1 p.m.
3 Mon, Sept. 28 at Dallas Cowboys ESPN 8:30 p.m.
4 Bye
5 Sun, Oct. 11 vs. Washington Redskins FOX 1 p.m.
6 Sun, Oct. 18 at Tampa Bay Buccaneers FOX 1 p.m.
7 Sun, Oct. 25 vs. Buffalo Bills CBS 4:05 p.m.
8 Sun, Nov. 1 at Arizona Cardinals FOX 4:15 p.m.
9 Sun, Nov. 8 at New Orleans Saints FOX 4:05 p.m.
10 Sun, Nov. 15 vs. Atlanta Falcons FOX 1 p.m.
11 Thu, Nov. 19 vs. Miami Dolphins NFLN 8:20 p.m.
12 Sun, Nov. 29 at New York Jets FOX 1 p.m.
13 Sun, Dec. 6 vs. Tampa Bay Buccaneers FOX 1 p.m.
14 Sun, Dec. 13 at New England Patriots FOX 1 p.m.
15 Sun, Dec. 20 vs. Minnesota Vikings NBC 8:20 p.m.
16 Sun, Dec. 27 at New York Giants FOX 1 p.m.
17 Sun, Jan. 3 vs. New Orleans Saints FOX 1 p.m.
  Comments