The faces of national champions: 7 titles for Gamecocks, all in past 15 years

South Carolina went a century without winning a national championship in any sport, and now it has seven in the past 15 years. Four Gamecocks programs now boast a national championship. A look at the title teams:

Women’s basketball (2017)

Record: 33-4

Coach: Dawn Staley

Stars: A’ja Wilson, Allisha Gray and Kaela Davis

Of note: USC’s 33 wins are tied for second-most in one season.


Equestrian (2015)

Coach: Boo Major

Stars: Adele Norton, Amber Henter, Abigail Pait and Sam Chiodo

Of note: USC upset No. 1 Georgia, 10-6.


Baseball (2011)

Record: 55-14

Coach: Ray Tanner

Stars: Scott Wingo, Matt Price and Christian Walker

Of note: Wingo named CWS Most Outstanding Player.


Baseball (2010)

Record: 54-16

Coach: Ray Tanner

Stars: Jackie Bradley Jr., Michael Roth and Whit Merrifield

Of note: Gamecocks bury the “Chicken Curse.”


Equestrian (2007)

Coach: Boo Major

Stars: Megan Massaro and Carly Johns

Of note: Hunt Seat team went undefeated.


Equestrian (2005)

Coach: Boo Major

Stars: Kristen Terebesi and Tara Brothers

Of note: Gamecocks beat Georgia for title.


Women’s outdoor track and field (2002)

Coach: Curtis Frye

Stars: Erica Whipple, Demetria Washington, Miki Barber, Aleen Bailey, Tiffany Ross-Williams, Tacita Bass and Lashinda Demus

Of note: USC’s first team title in any sport.