USC Gamecocks Baseball

USC baseball 2011 season announced

Ray Tanner
Ray Tanner The State

The USC baseball team has announced its schedule for the 2011 season featuring 25 games against 2010 NCAA Tournament teams as well as 35 home games at Carolina Stadium.

The defending national champions open the season on Friday, Feb. 18 hosting a three-game series vs. Santa Clara. The schedule also includes 30 Southeastern Conference contests and a three-game series with in-state rival Clemson.

South Carolina and Clemson will meet for a second consecutive year in a three-game setting. The series opens on Friday, March 4 with Carolina hosting the Tigers at Carolina Stadium with first pitch set for 7 p.m. The two teams will travel to the Upstate for game two in Greenville, S.C. and face off at Fluor Field, home of the Greenville Drive, a minor league affiliate of the Boston Red Sox. First pitch on Saturday is 2 p.m. The series then concludes on Sunday afternoon at Clemson. The series finale at Doug Kingsmore Stadium is slated for 2 p.m.

The Gamecocks' 30-game SEC schedule begins on Friday, March 18 with South Carolina hosting Georgia. The Gamecocks will also host Kentucky (April 1-3), Vanderbilt (April 15-17), and Auburn (April 29 - May 1). SEC road games include Florida (March 25-27), Tennessee (April 8-10), Mississippi State (April 22-24), Ole Miss (May 6-8), Arkansas (May 13-15) and Alabama (May 19-21).

In addition, Carolina will play 11 in-state contests this year with Charleston Southern, College of Charleston, Furman, Presbyterian, The Citadel, USC Upstate and Wofford.

The SEC Tournament is scheduled for May 25-29 at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala. with the NCAA Regionals and NCAA Super Regionals the following two weeks. The College World Series in Omaha, Neb. is slated from June 18-29.

South Carolina is the defending national champion in college baseball after winning the title at the 2010 College World Series.

2011 South Carolina Baseball Schedule (as of Dec. 1, 2010)



18 Santa Clara Columbia, S.C. 3 p.m.19 Santa Clara Columbia, S.C. 3 p.m.20 Santa Clara Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.25 Southern Illinois Columbia, S.C. 3 p.m.26 Southern Illinois Columbia, S.C. 3 p.m.27 Southern Illinois Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.


1 Furman Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.4 Clemson Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.5 vs. Clemson Greenville, S.C. (Fluor Field) 2 p.m.6 at Clemson Clemson, S.C. 2 p.m.9 Davidson Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.11 Cal State Bakersfield Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.12 Cal State Bakersfield Columbia, S.C. 4 p.m.13 Cal State Bakersfield Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.15 at Furman Greenville, S.C. (Fluor Field) 7 p.m.16 Wofford Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.18 Georgia* Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.19 Georgia* Columbia, S.C. 4 p.m.20 Georgia* Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.22 College of Charleston Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.23 Rhode Island Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.25 at Florida* Gainesville, Fla. 7 p.m.26 at Florida* Gainesville, Fla. 7 p.m.27 at Florida* Gainesville, Fla. 1 p.m.30 The Citadel Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.


1 Kentucky* Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.2 Kentucky* Columbia, S.C. 4 p.m.3 Kentucky* Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.5 USC Upstate Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.7 at Tennessee* (ESPNU) Knoxville, Tenn. 7:30 p.m.8 at Tennessee* Knoxville, Tenn. 7 p.m.9 at Tennessee* Knoxville, Tenn. 2 p.m.12 at The Citadel Charleston, S.C. 7 p.m.15 Vanderbilt* Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.16 Vanderbilt* Columbia, S.C. 4 p.m.17 Vanderbilt* Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.19 at College of Charleston Charleston, S.C. 7 p.m.22 at Mississippi State* Starkville, Miss. 7:30 p.m.23 at Mississippi State* Starkville, Miss. 3 p.m.24 at Mississippi State* Starkville, Miss. 2:30 p.m.29 Auburn* Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.30 Auburn* Columbia, S.C. 4 p.m.


1 Auburn* Columbia, S.C. 1:30 p.m.4 at Wofford Spartanburg, S.C. 7 p.m.6 at Ole Miss* Oxford, Miss. 7:30 p.m.7 at Ole Miss* Oxford, Miss. 5 p.m.8 at Ole Miss* Oxford, Miss. 2:30 p.m.10 Presbyterian Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.11 Charleston Southern Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.13 Arkansas* Fayetteville, Ark. 7 p.m.14 Arkansas* Fayetteville, Ark. 4 p.m.15 Arkansas* Fayetteville, Ark. 1:30 p.m.17 UNC Asheville Columbia, S.C. 7 p.m.19 at Alabama Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:35 p.m.20 at Alabama* Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7:35 p.m.21 at Alabama* Tuscaloosa, Ala. 2:05 p.m.


3-6 NCAA Regionals TBA

3-6 NCAA Super Regionals TBA

3-6 College World Series TBA

All times Eastern unless noted. Dates and times subject to change * denotes SEC game