USC Gamecocks Football

Ellington Named To 2013 Paul Hornung Award Watch List

South Carolina junior wide receiver Bruce Ellington has been named to the 2013 Paul Hornung Award Watch List, as announced by the Louisville Sports Commission on Friday. Ellington is one of 44 players named to the preseason list.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its fourth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

The 2013 Watch List was compiled by a panel of college football experts based on a combination of 2012 statistics, career performance and expectations heading into the 2013 season.

Ellington is coming off a breakout season on the gridiron in 2012 where he led the team in receiving yards with 600 on 40 catches, including seven touchdowns. He has also been the Gamecocks' top kickoff returner each of the past two seasons and has made 15 career starts.

Three Paul Hornung Award finalists from last season are back on the list in 2013 - Antonio Andrews from Western Kentucky, Dri Archer from Kent State and Marqise Lee from the University of Southern California.

The Watch List is comprised of 19 seniors, 21 juniors and four sophomores, representing 41 universities and 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The SEC is the leading conference with nine players followed by the ACC with six players. There are five players from both the Big Ten and Big 12.

In 2012, players on this year's Paul Hornung Award Watch List accounted for 17,035 rushing yards, 17,112 receiving yards, 17,148 kickoff return yards, 4,874 punt return yards and 350 total tackles. Reminiscent of Hornung during his playing days, members of the Watch List demonstrated a knack for scoring, posting 408 total touchdowns in five different scoring capacities a year ago.

2013 Watch List Selections

Jared Abbrederis, Wisconsin

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska

Antonio Andrews, WKU

Dri Archer, Kent State

D.J. Banks, Louisiana Tech

Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

Corey Brown, Ohio State

Isaiah Burse, Fresno State

Trey Burton, Florida

Michael Campanaro, Wake Forest

Brandon Carter, TCU

Chris Coyer, Temple

Quandre Diggs, Texas

Stefon Diggs, Maryland

Bruce Ellington, South Carolina

Tyler Ervin, San Jose State

Cody Fajardo, Nevada

JD Falslev, BYU

D.J. Foster, Arizona State

Jerry "BooBoo" Gates, Bowling Green

Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State

Jamal Golden, Georgia Tech

Scott Harding, Hawaii

Akeem Hunt, Purdue

Kyshoen Jarrett, Virginia Tech

Duke Johnson, Miami (FLA)

Christion Jones, Alabama

Marqise Lee, Southern California

Tommylee Lewis, Northern Illinois

Tyler Lockett, Kansas State

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Venric Mark, Northwestern

Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

Marcus Murphy, Missouri

LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State

Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida

Bernard Reedy, Toledo

Jamill Smith, Ball State

Damien Thigpen, UCLA

De'Anthony Thomas, Oregon

Tramaine Thompson, Kansas State

Sammy Watkins, Clemson

Trey Watts, Tulsa