High School Sports

CC: Chapin perfect at 5-3A meet

Chapin posted two perfect scores in a show of total domination at the Region 5-3A cross country championship meet last week.

The Eagles boys and girls teams both posted teams scores of 15 points – the best tally possible – thanks to having all of its scoring runners finish in the top five. The Chapin boys, in fact, had its entire starting lineup of seven runners monopolize the all-region team.

Russell Baker was the individual region champion with a time of 17 minutes, 7 seconds. He was followed, in order, by Eric Rice (17:08), Carson Barnes (17:11), Heath Lorick (17:39), Shaun Hinen (18:15), Hunter McGahee (18:37) and Jay Wilkins (18:42). McGahee and Wilkins did not contribute to the team score, but rated all-region honors by finishing sixth and seventh, respectively.

The first non-Chapin runner to cross the finish line was Jordan Malkoff of Lugoff-Elgin, who was eighth in 18:44. Daniel Ward of A.C. Flora (19:270 rounded out the Top 10.

Lugoff-Elgin nipped Flora, 78-80, for team runner-up honors.

Lannon McCoy paced the Eagles girls; perfect effort, earning individual honors with a time of 20:24. McCoy’s scoring support came from Ashlee Wilson (20:36), Sydney Frontz (20:37), Hannah Shull (21:49) and Olivia Bueno (22:08). Sarah Baldwin and Elizabeth Tyner did not figure in the team scoring, but both cracked the Top 10, placing eighth and ninth, respectively.

A.C. Flora was second behind Chapin in the team standings with 54 points. Julia Theus led the way for the Falcons with a 10th-place finish and a time of 22:21.