High School Sports

Silver Foxes romp to Taco Bell mat title

Dutch Fork rolled to an easy win at the 25-team Taco Bell Invitational wrestling tournament last weekend at Spring Valley. It was the second straight tournament triumph for Ken Wilson’s Silver Foxes.

John Brannigan (130), George Holstead (135), Cory Koon (189), T.J. Cayruth (215) and heavyweight Marshall Williams all won individual titles while helping DF finish with a winning team total of 307.5 points. Second-place Gilbert finished with 201 points.

It was the third tournament triumph in as many tries this month for Cayruth, the top-ranked 215-pound wrestler in Class 4A by scmat.com. The senior standout came away from the Taco Bell event with two awards – outstanding wrestler and outstanding senior wrestler and scholarship recipient.

Holstead, a defending state champion, now has two tournament wins and one runner-up finish on the books. Brannigan, Koon and Williams were winners for the second week in a row.

In all, Dutch Fork had 10 place finishers. Adam Strother was second at 171, A.J. Finley (112), J.B. Studemeyer (145) and Parker Leslie (152) were consolation champs and Mark Stanton placed fourth at 119.