High School Sports

Loaded Viking Cup soccer event starts Thursday at Spring Valley

The 17th annual Taco Bell Viking Cup girls soccer tournament at Spring Valley begins Thursday and runs through the championship match on Sunday at 1 p.m.

The field features 32 of the top teams in the state, including defending state champions Wando (4A), Hilton Head (3A) and Bishop England (2A-1A), and defending state runner-ups Mauldin (4A), Riverside (3A) and Woodruff (2A-1A).

The loaded field includes the all of the Top 15 ranked teams in 4A, all of the Top 10 in 3A and the top three teams in 2A-1A. This will be the first Taco Bell Viking Cup visit for Woodruff, and just the second for Waccamaw.

“We have another great field lined up, and we should have some great matches,” said Spring Valley coach Stephen Lea, who also serves as the tournament director.

First round matches are:

Bracket A – Airport vs. Spring Valley (5:30 p.m., Thursday); Fort Mill vs. West Ashley (5:30 p;m., Friday); Mauldin vs. South Aiken (7 p.m., Friday); T.L. Hanna vs. Hilton Head (7 p.m., Friday).

Bracket B – Ridge View vs. Dutch Fork (5:30 p.m., Thursday); Aiken vs. Brookland-Cayce (7 p.m., Thursday); Byrnes vs. Bishop England (5 p.m., Friday); J.L. Mann vs. James Island (7 p.m., Friday).

Bracket C – Chapin vs. North Augusta (7 p.m., Thursday); Lexington vs. Blythewood (8:30 p.m., Thursday); Eastside vs. Wando (5:30 p.m., Friday); Waccamaw vs. Dorman (8:30 p.m., Friday).

Bracket D – Dreher vs. Irmo (8:30 p.m., Thursday); Riverside vs. Clover (7 p.m., Friday); Summerville vs. Woodruff (5:30 p.m., Friday); Spartanburg vs. Myrtle Beach 8:30 p.m., Friday).

Action continues with a full day and night of action on Saturday. Semifinal matches are scheduled for 9 a.m. on Sunday with the championship showdown to follow at 1 p.m. The Ashley Nicole Dent Scholarship, a $1,000 award funded by Taco Bell, will be presented to the senior MVP of the tournament.

South Carolina High School Soccer Coaches Association Preseason Polls

Class 4A Girls

1. Wando; 2. Mauldin; 3. Dorman; 4. Dutch Fork; 5. Summerville; 6. Irmo; 7. T.L. Hanna; 8. Spring Valley; 9. Spartanburg; 10. Clover; 11. Lexington; 12. Fort Mill; 13. Byrnes; 14. James Island; 15. North Augusta.

Class 3A Girls

1. Hilton Head; 2. J.L. Mann; 3. Riverside; 4. Eastside; 5. Chapin; 6. Airport; 7. South Aiken; 8. Brookland-Cayce; 9. Myrtle Beach; 10. Dreher.

Class 2A/1A Girls

1. Waccamaw; 2. Bishop England; 3. Woodruff; 4. Walhalla; 5. Academic Magnet; 6. Christ Church; 7. Barnwell; 8. Gilbert; 9. Wade Hampton; 10. Emerald.