High School Sports

Beckley, Owings headline Midlands all-state baseball picks

Camden coach Denny Beckley and Gilbert senior Christopher Owings headline the Midlands selections on this year’s South Carolina Baseball Coaches Association all-state teams.

Beckley was rewarded for leading the Bulldogs to the Class 3A state championship series for the first time in 20 years by being named the Statewide and Class 3A coach of the year. Camden squares off against Belton-Honea Path Friday at Newberry College in the decisive third game of the best-of-three series. Bulldogs senior Jack LaFrage was named to the Class 3A team.

Owings is the Class 2A player of the year after batting .400 with a .516 on base percentage and a .771 slugging percentage, good for a 1.287 OPS in his final season as an Indian. Owings scored 30 runs, drove in 20 and rang up seven doubles, two triples and five home runs. He also swiped 22 bases.

Blythewood sophomore catcher Grayson Greiner and Spring Valley senior Jake Zokan rated places on the 4A team. A.C. Flora’s James Newman, Lugoff-Elgin junior Forrest Loumas, Dreher’s Chandler Knox, Fairfield Central senior Justin Trapp and the Brookland-Cayce duo of James Hall and Michael Gilroy earned spots of the 3A team. Gilbert teammate Alex Davidson, Batesburg-Leesville’s Scott Price, Pelion;s Wesley Camp and C.J. Edwards and Will Bedenbaugh of Mid-Carolina join Owings on the 2A team.

2009 SCBCA All-State Teams

4A All-State Team

Grayson Greiner-Blythewood; Cameron Holmes-Boiling Springs; Josh Pless-Boiling Springs; Colby Holmes-Conway, Will Muzika-Dorman, Dylan Cole-Dorman; McCrae Norton-Gaffney; Cameron Culp-Gaffney; Christian Powell-Greenwood; TJ Esters-Northwestern; Drew Hardee-Northwestern; Travis Burnside-Laurens; Dre Watts-Laurens; Seth Neely-Rock Hill; Jake Zokan-Spring Valley; Josh Crout-Stratford; Brooks Hall-TL Hanna; Daniel Aldrich-Wando; Kyle Christian-Wando; Drew Cisco-Wando; Chandler Smetana-West Florence.

4A Player of the Year

Cameron Holmes-Boiling Springs

4A Coach of the Year

Jeff Blankenship-Wando

3A All-State Team

James Newman-AC Flora; Matthew Moore-Belton-Honea Path; James Hall-Brookland-Cayce; Michael Gilroy-Brookland-Cayce; Jack LaFrage-Camden; Daniel Rawls-Chester; Chandler Knox-Dreher; Austen Barber-Eastside; Justin Trapp-Fairfield-Central; Daniel Palka-Greer; Tyler Montgomery-Greer; Greg Harrison-Hilton Head; Paul Nitto-JL Mann; Reggie Weatherford-Lake City; Forrest Koumas-Lugoff-Elgin; Taylor Grover-Midland Valley; Matt Pegler-Riverside; Aures Renfrow-Socastee; Dalton Guss-South Aiken; Thomas Floyd-Travelers Rest.

3A Player of the Year

Matthew Moore-Belton-Honea Path

3A Coach of the Year

Denny Beckley-Camden

2A All-State Team

Hunter Cox-Andrews; Coty Smith-Barnwell; Scott Price-Batesburg-Leesville; Brison Celek-Bishop England; Ryon Connolly-Bishop England; Alex Abrems-Bishop England; Gray Stafford-Cheraw; Brendon Henderson-Chesnee; Phillip Herring-Dillon; Anthony Smith-Dillon; Christopher Owings-Gilbert; Alex Davidson-Gilbert; Chandler Cox-Hanahan; Bryce Hines-Hanahan; CJ Edwards-Mid-Carolina; Will Bedenbaugh-Mid-Carolina; Wesley Camp-Pelion; Cody Craig-Timberland; Zack Hagaman-Waccamaw; Randall Long-Wade Hampton.

2A Player of the Year

Christopher Owings-Gilbert

2A Coach of the Year

Dean Jones-Chesnee

1A All-State Team

Don Sandifer-Bamberg-Ehrhardt; Zach Godley-Bamberg-Ehrhardt; Joseph Wright-Buford; Seth Truesdale-Chesterfield; Ty Weatherford-Chesterfield; DeMario Washington-Dixie; Caleb Bell-Fox Creek; Gaither Bumgardner-Great Falls; Paul Lawler-Greenville Tech; Taylor Strickland-Johnsonville; Josh Powell-Johnsonville; Tracy Bishop-Johnsonville; Jordan Miller-Lake View; Dustin Morris-Landrum; Alex Wilson-Landrum; Ryan Jacobs-Landrum; Logan Pemberton-Lewisville; Justin Bristow-McBee; Tyler Jones-McCormick; Michael Clark-Ninety Six; Aures Renfrow-Socastee; Will Gladden-Southside Christian.

1A Player of the Year

Don Sandifer-Bamberg-Ehrhardt

1A Coach of the Year

David Horton-Bamberg-Ehrhardt

Coach of the Year for All Classifications

Denny Beckley-Camden