High School Sports

4 local standouts tapped for Shrine Bowl

Shrine Bowl rosters, announced Thursday, contained four Midlands players, down from 11 in 2008.

Irmo High's Mustafa Greene, considered the state's second-best senior running back, leads the group, which also includes Keenan defensive lineman James Barnes, Richland Northeast offensive lineman C.J. Wilson and Calhoun County linebacker Brandon Golson.

"Hard work pays off," Barnes said. "Working hard gets you where you want to be."

Greene, who has battled a high ankle sprain this month, has 1,169 yards and 18 touchdowns for the Yellow Jackets (8-1), who can clinch the Region 5-4A championship with a victory against Richland Northeast on Friday night. Irmo is ranked No. 5 in Class 4A.

Barnes has helped Keenan (7-2) to a second consecutive winning season.

"It lets us know that we are doing something right," Keenan coach Mitchell Moton said. "It's a good feeling around here."

Golson, a South Carolina commitment, has led Calhoun County to an 8-1 record and the No. 3 ranking in Class A.

This year's game, pitting the top seniors from South Carolina against the top seniors from North Carolina, will be played Dec. 19 at 1 p.m. at Wofford College's Gibbs Stadium in Spartanburg.

Byrnes, the top-ranked team in Class 4A, will be represented by running back Marcus Lattimore, the nation's top-rated high school player by some recruiting services, and defensive end Corey Miller, a Tennessee commitment.

"We feel like our running backs can play with anyone in the country," said South Carolina coach Lewis Lineberger, the coach at Johnsonville High. "Marcus Lattimore is one of the top backs in the country. Mustafa Greene can also play with anybody in the country."

In addition to Byrnes, other schools putting the maximum of two players on the roster are Bamberg-Ehrhardt (A.J. Cann and Justin Henderson), Rock Hill (Xavier McFadden and Jatavius Stewart), Boiling Springs (Dylan Thompson and Logan Stewart), Chester (Ariane McCree and A.J. Canty) and Clover (Tra Latta and Elliott).

Berkeley's Bruce Ellington, a South Carolina basketball commitment, is on the team as a wide receiver.

"I think we have a lot of speed," Lineberger said. "We want to try to take advantage of that speed, but we also have the ability to run and throw the football."

Byrnes quarterback Chas Dodd, a Rutgers commitment, was not selected since Lattimore and Miller brought the school to the maximum number of Shrine Bowl players. Thompson, a South Carolina commitment from Boiling Springs, and Timberland's Cody Craig are the S.C. quarterbacks.

"We feel like we have some quarterbacks who can do a lot of things," Lineberger said.

On defense, Miller will be joined by USC commitment Kelcy Quarles, a defensive lineman from Greenwood, and Clemson commitment Deandre Hopkins, a defensive back from Daniel.

South Carolina leads the series 40-28-4 and has won the past two meetings, including a 24-14 triumph last season.

South Carolina roster

Matthew Ashley, OL, Belton-Honea Path

Andrew Bailey, DL, Dorman

James Barnes, DL, Keenan

Antuawn Blue, WR, Dillon

Bashaud Breeland, LB, Allendale-Fairfax

Martavis Bryant, WR, T.L. Hanna

Aaron Cann, OL, Bamberg-Ehrhardt

A.J. Canty, OL, Chester

Davious Chestnut, LB, Carvers Bay

James Costello, Jr., OL, Gaffney

Cody Craig, QB, Timberland

Delarius Edwards, DL, Chesterfield

Bruce Ellington, WR, Berkeley

Max Elliott, RB, Clover

Johnovan Fulton, DB, Manning

Keagen Funderburk, TE, Central

Brandon Golson, LB, Calhoun County

Mustafa Greene, RB, Irmo

Chad Hamilton, OL, James Island

Charles Hazel, Jr., WR, North Augusta

Justin Henderson, DL, Bamberg-Ehrhardt

DeAndre Hopkins, WR, Daniel

Malcolm Howard, LB, Goose Creek

Taylor Hudson, OL, Mauldin

Conelius Jones, WR, Spartanburg

Tra Latta, LB, Clover

Marcus Lattimore, RB, Byrnes

William Lucas, TE, Hartsville

Ariane McCree, LB, Chester

Xavier McFadden, DB, Rock Hill

Corey Miller, DL, Byrnes

Justin Parker, LB, Beaufort

Ruben Perez, K, Laurens

Kelcy Quarles, DL, Greenwood

Sheldon Robinson, DB, Lake City

Brant Sally, DB, Stratford

Logan Stewart, OL, Boiling Springs

Jatavius Stewart, DB, Rock Hill

Devin Taylor, OL, Summerville

Thomas Teal, DL, Marlboro County

Dylan Thompson, QB, Boiling Springs

Khiry Watts, DB, Myrtle Beach

Brandon Williams, LB, Northwestern

Cephas Wilson, Jr., OL, Richland NE

Head coach: Lewis Lineberger, Johsonville. Assistants: Art Craig, Timberland, Denver Cromer, North Myrtle Beach, Mike Hawkins, Laurens, Rick Knight, Midland Valley, Nate Thompson, Carvers Bay, Jet Turner, Clover

North Carolina roster

Vince Allen, DL, New Hanover

Keenan Allen, DB, North Guilford

David Amerson, DB, James B. Dudley

Tyler Brosius, QB, Tuscola

Major Bryant, LB, James B. Dudley

Anthony Carrothers, QB, Independence

Nate Charest, DB, David W. Butler

Patrick Clyburn, Jr., LB, West Iredell

Takoby Cofield, OL, Tarboro

Alex Coulthard, OL, Richmond Sr.

Robert Crisp, OL, Athens Drive

Phillip Dobbins, OL, Southern Nash

Damario Eastmon, RB, E.E. Smith

Ethan Farmer, TE, South Columbus

Graham Fisher, OL, Tuscola

Andrew Geathers, OL, East Bladen

Jamil Hawes, DL, Asheville

Lamar Ivey, ATH, Eastern Alamance

Eric Johnson, RB, Jack Britt

Anthony Johnson, LB, Harnett Central

Jermaine Kessler, DL, Lumberton

Kewitt Koonce, DB, Kinston

Terrence Leifheit, DL, John T. Hoggard

Darius Lipford, LB, Hibriten

A.J. Marshall, DB, Southern Durham

Kareem Martin, DE, Roanoke Rapids

Clarence Montgomery, DL, W. Charlotte

Devin Moore, TE, E. Mecklenburg

Anthony Parker, DB, N. Mecklenburg

Kevin Parks, Jr., RB, West Rowan

Alex Polofsky, LB, Butler

Kasey Redfern, L/P, Ragsdale

Corey Robinson, OL, Havelock

T.J. Ross, LB, Southern Durham

Trevor Sawyer, TE, Asheville

Christopher Smith, DE, West Rowan

Joshua Snead, RB, Smithfield-Selma

Johnathan Spain, LB, Page

Quantrez Stevenson, DB, T.W. Andrews

Tra Thomas, DL, Anson Senior

Antonio Vaughan, DB, Hertford Co.

Tamari White, RB, White Oak

Reggie Wilkins, WR, Crest

De'Tric Williams, WR, South Johnston

Head coach: Jim Oddo, Charlotte Catholic. Assistants: Anthony Barbour, Smithfield-Selma, Steven Davis, Dudley, Lenon Fisher, East Bladen, Robbie Harris, Eastern Alamance, Mike Newsome, Butler, Scott Young, West Rowan