Committee to lead search for new Benedict College president

From staff reports

A committee has been formed to search for a new Benedict College president.

The committee will review applications, participate in candidate interviews and present recommendations to the college's board of trustees, Trustee Chairman Dr. Charlie W. Johnson said.

The committee consists of board of trustees members, faculty, staff, alumni, student leaders and community leaders.

The committee members are: Trustee Solomon Jackson Jr.; Trustee William L. Thomas (alumnus); Trustee G. Tyrone Bonds; Trustee Richard Panner; Trustee Elsie Hamler (alumnus); Trustee Harry Singleton (faculty and staff representative to the Board of Trustees); Trustee Marlene Ndoun (student representative to the Board of Trustees); staff member Barbara C. Moore, vice president of institutional advancement; faculty member Dr. Ronnie Hopkins, dean of the Freshman Institute; faculty member Dr. Damara Hightower (alumnus) dean of the School of Education; Student Government Association President Tevin Spruill; community leader Carl Frederick, president of the Edgewood Neighborhood Association; community member Doris Johnson, former assistant vice president for Title III; and alumnus Tyrone Burroughs, president and CEO of First Choice Sales and Marketing Group.