Bertram Rantin

Two Midlands schools join Palmetto’s Finest ranks

Chapin High School, shown here, along with Oak Grove Elementary recently were named Palmetto’s Finest Schools.
Chapin High School, shown here, along with Oak Grove Elementary recently were named Palmetto’s Finest Schools. file photo

Oak Grove Elementary School in Lexington 1 and Chapin High School in Lexington-Richland 5 are among four South Carolina schools recently named Palmetto’s Finest.

The awards are presented each year to two elementary schools, one middle school and one high school and are based on student achievement, faculty training, community involvement and other benchmarks.

Oak Grove Elementary serves 715 students. It was named a National Blue Ribbon School in 2012 and became a Lighthouse School for Leadership in 2014.

Chapin High serves 1,160 students. The school boasts a graduation rate of more than 94 percent, and 48 percent of the student body is enrolled in at least one Advanced Placement course and 59 percent is in at least one Career and Technology Education course.

Red Cedar Elementary in Bluffton (Beaufort County Schools) and Gregg Middle in Summerville (Dorchester 2) were the other two winners.

Kershaw schools name top principal

Wateree Elementary School Principal Gail Stehle has been named Kershaw County School District 2015 Principal of the Year.

Stehle was selected by school and district administrators. She has served as Wateree’s principal since 2009 and under her leadership, the school has received a Palmetto Gold Award, three Palmetto Silver Awards, and three Red Carpet School Awards.

Richland 1 accepting Hall of Fame nominations

Richland 1 is accepting nominations for its 2015 Hall of Fame induction class.

Individuals, living or deceased, who have made significant contributions to Richland 1, their communities or professions are eligible for induction.

Hall of Fame nominees do not have to be Richland 1 alumni. Current district employees, school board members and elected officials are not eligible, but former district employees, school board members and other former elected officials may be nominated.

Eligibility criteria and nomination forms may be downloaded from the district’s website at; click on the Hall of Fame link.

Nominations must be submitted by July 13 to the Richland 1 Office of Communications, 1616 Richland St., Columbia, SC 29201.